A Newbery Collection boxed set

A Newbery Collection boxed set

Other Format



An essential library of four unforgettable Newbery Medal winners.

Includes beautiful paperback editions of four classic winners of the Newbery Medal for the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children: Number the Stars by Lois Lowry with an all-new introduction by the author; Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell, with an all-new introduction by Lois Lowry; The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare; with an all-new introduction by Karen Cushman; and A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park. Includes Park’s Newbery Medal acceptance speech.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780547610825
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication date: 09/13/2011
Pages: 756
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.76(h) x 2.14(d)
Age Range: 10 - 12 Years

About the Author

Lois Lowry won the Newbery Medal in 1990 for Number the Stars and in 1994 for The Giver. She is known for her versatility and invention as a writer and has written more than thirty books for children and young adults. Her countless honors include the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award, the Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award, the California Young Reader’s Medal, and the Mark Twain Award. Ms. Lowry now divides her time between Cambridge and an 1840s farmhouse in Maine. To learn more about Lois Lowry, see her website at www.loislowry.com.

Scott O'Dell won the Newbery Medal in 1961 for Island of the Blue Dolphins. Among his many other literary awards was a Newbery Honor for The Black Pearl and the Hans Christian Anderson Award for his body of work, the highest international award given to an author of children's books. O’Dell wrote twenty six books for children before his death at the age of 91. Island of the Blue Dolphins was his first. It's been translated into nineteen languages, and, after fifty years, is still read by children around the world. In 1976 the Children's Literature Association named Island of the Blue Dolphins one of the ten best American children's books of the past two hundred years. 

Elizabeth George Speare
 won the Newbery Medal in 1959 for The Witch of Blackbird Pond and in 1962 for The Bronze Bow. She also received a Newbery Honor in 1983 for The Sign of the Beaver, and in 1989 she was presented with the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award for her substantial and enduring contribution to children’s literature. Of her beginnings as a writer working on Witch of Blackbird Pond she said: "Then one day I stumbled on a true story from New England history with a character who seemed to me an ideal heroine. Though I had my first historical novel almost by accident it soon proved to be an absorbing hobby." She died in 1994.

Linda Sue Park won the Newbery Medal in 2002 for A Single Shard. She has written many other novels, several picture books, and poetry, including Tap Dancing on the Roof: Sijo (Poems) and most recently A Long Walk to Water, a novel about Sudan based on a true story. She lives in Rochester, New York with her family and is a devoted fan of the New York Mets. Visit her website at www.lspark.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews