This item is not eligible for coupon offers.

Night in the Ruts

Night in the Ruts

by AerosmithAerosmith


$4.99 $7.99 Save 38% Current price is $4.99, Original price is $7.99. You Save 38%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, March 2
4 New & Used Starting at $5.41


By the time Aerosmith's sixth studio release was issued, 1979's Night in the Ruts, guitarist Joe Perry had finally left the band after years of drug-fueled bickering with singer Steven Tyler (forming the Joe Perry Project by year's end). Most of the tracks were completed before Perry's departure, with replacement Jimmy Crespo filling the few empty spaces. And while the band looks back upon this period as hazy and frustrating, Night in the Ruts is a surprisingly coherent and inspired album. Although it's not up to par with such classics as Toys in the Attic or Rocks (although it could have been if the band weren't in such a state of turmoil at the time), it was definitely leaner and more focused than their last studio release, Draw the Line. Highlights include the striking opening rocker, "No Surprize," which recounts the band's early history, as well the driving yet melodic "Chiquita," the jamming "Three Mile Smile," the furious "Bone to Bone," and a pair of covers -- the Yardbirds' "Think About It" and the novelty number "Reefer Head Woman." The only lowlight is a weak cover of the Shangri-Las' "Remember (Walking in the Sand)," which was inexplicably issued as a single and included on 1980's Greatest Hits. While the album performed respectfully on the charts, the ensuing tour did little to boost sales -- it was marred with canceled dates and lackluster performances brought on by Tyler's substance abuse.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/01/2008
Label: Sbme Special Mkts.
UPC: 0886972412429
catalogNumber: 724124
Rank: 1974


  1. No Surprize
  2. Chiquita
  3. Remember (Walking in the Sand)
  4. Cheese Cake
  5. Three Mile Smile
  6. Reefer Head Woman
  7. Bone to Bone (Coney Island White Fish Boy)
  8. Think About It
  9. Mia

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Aerosmith   Primary Artist
George Young   Horn,Alto Saxophone
Lou Marini   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Barry Rogers   Trombone,Tenor Saxophone
Neil Thompson   Electric Guitar
Steven Tyler   Bass,Harmonica,Percussion,Keyboards
Lew Del Gatto   Baritone Saxophone

Technical Credits

Aerosmith   Producer
Joe Perry   Contributor
Chris Dreja   Composer
Joey Kramer   Contributor
Gary Lyons   Producer,Engineer
George "Shadow" Morton   Composer
Brad Whitford   Contributor
Kosh   Art Direction
David Krebs   Executive Producer,Direction
Steve Leber   Direction
Keith Garde   Creative Supervision
Tom Hamilton   Contributor
J. Bennett   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Night in the Ruts 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the most under-rated aerosmith album the band ever put out. Even though lead guitarist Joe Perry left the band in the middle of producing this album, aerosmith still pulled it off. With a little help from Jimmy Crespo Aerosmith produced a supurb album. Some great tracks include Three Mile Smile, Reefer Head Woman, and a song dedicated to Steven Tylers daughter called ''Mia''