by Candi StatonCandi Staton


$12.34 $12.99 Save 5% Current price is $12.34, Original price is $12.99. You Save 5%.


A reissue of Staton's 1981 album for Joe and Sylvia Robinson's Sugar Hill Records label, which specialized in rap music at the time. The album was a reunion with "Young Hearts" producer Dave Crawford. A measly seven songs, more than half geared toward the dance floor, such as "Love and Be Free" and "In the Still of the Night" -- the latter shouldn't be confused with the song by the Five Satins. The set features a nice uptempo pop song of marital reaffirmation in "Count On Me" and a sensuous ballad written by Deniece Williams, "Hurry Sundown." Staton even tries a little rap on the tail end of "The Sunshine of Our Love" and gives Elvis Presley's "Suspicious Minds" a nice, poppish dance workout.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/02/2015
Label: Imports
UPC: 5414939808326
catalogNumber: 5018627


  1. Love And Be Free
  2. Suspicious Minds
  3. In the Still of the Night
  4. The Sunshine of Our Love
  5. Hurry Sundown
  6. Tender Hooks
  7. Count On Me
  8. Suspicious Minds
  9. Count On Me

Album Credits

Customer Reviews