Nikki Cleary

Nikki Cleary

by Nikki ClearyNikki Cleary


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Nikki Cleary's eponymous debut arrives on Jive after a whirlwind flirtation with success that began with a novelty hit and facilitated a name change, all before the performer's 15th birthday. It started a few years ago with "I.M. Me," a ditty with lyrics derived from instant messaging slang ("LOL") and online inside humor ("This girl wide web is hot stuff"). Unsurprisingly, the song caused a sensation online, and its brief publicity spike landed the young singer a recording contract with Jive. But while she had been known as Brittney Cleary, the presence of a certain other Britney on Jive's roster encouraged a moniker shift. Nikki Cleary's full-length introduction is lighter than acne-free face wash, less damaging than the least damaging hair conditioner, and sweeter than Frosted Wild Magicburst Pop-Tarts®. She has a wide-open singing voice that isn't hidden behind hand-fluttering vocal histrionics, and while the album's persistent use of pitch correction and "robot Nikki" vocal processing is irritating, the singer's easygoing, high-school-musical talent still shines through. Chatty lyrics like "Called my girls on the phone" and "He's been sweatin' you all day" abound; a faux cell phone conversation lights up the intro of "Sorry for Myself." It's music made exclusively for the Radio Disney set, a fan base who likely won't notice the blatant indiscretions taken with a fizzy, mall-ready reset of the Grease classic "You're the One That I Want," since Cleary performs the duet with Dream Street dreamboat-in-training Chris Trousdale (who sounds almost exactly like Nikki). "Summertime Guys" and additional cover song "Walking on Sunshine" channel the Go-Go's through Pro Tools, while "1-2-3" and "The Game" are dance-pop lemon drops. The album has the staying power of ice cream on August asphalt. But Cleary and her people understand and endorse its fleeting, summertime crush quality, making the record read like the histrionic headlines of a high-school yearbook.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/05/2003
Label: Jive
UPC: 0828765372121
catalogNumber: 53721
Rank: 109284

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nikki Cleary   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Kevin Paige   Background Vocals
Steve Kipner   Guitar
Douglas Carr   Keyboards
David Frank   Keyboards
Paul Gendler   Guitar
Lance Morrison   Bass
Ander Wikstrom   Guitar,Background Vocals
Stephanie McKay   Background Vocals
Jeff Coplan   Drums
Pamela Sheyne   Background Vocals
Kamil Rustam   Guitar
Kristine Blond   Background Vocals
Alexis Krauss   Background Vocals
Jeanette Olsson   Background Vocals
Dorian Cheah   Guitar
Fredrik Thomander   Bass,Keyboards
Fredrick Boström   Bass
Camilla Brink   Background Vocals
Holly Telfer   Background Vocals
Becky Corcoran   Background Vocals
Emma Roads   Background Vocals
Tom Rees-Roberts   Trumpet
Chris Trousdale   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Kevin Paige   Producer,Instrumentation,Engineering
John Farrar   Composer
Steve Kipner   Producer,Vocal Arrangements
Robert Ellis Orrall   Composer
Douglas Carr   Arranger,Programming,Producer
Nick Foster   Arranger,Producer
David Frank   Producer,Vocal Arrangements,drum programming
Dean Murphy   Engineering
Kimberley Rew   Composer
Guy Roche   Arranger,Programming,Producer
Michael Tucker   Engineering
Ander Wikstrom   Producer,Engineering
Kara DioGuardi   Producer
Mike Rose   Arranger,Producer
Charles McCrorey   Engineering
Jeff Coplan   Composer,Programming,Producer,Instrumentation,Engineering
Pamela Sheyne   Vocal Arrangements
Ryan Freeland   Engineering
Rich Tapper   Engineering
Christine Mundie   Contributor
Elisa Garcia   Art Direction
Supaflyas   Programming,Producer,Instrumentation,Engineering
Dushyant Bhakta   Engineering
Fredrik Thomander   Producer,Engineering
Nikki Cleary   Composer
Adam L. Kaplan   Management
Larry Rudolph   Management
Ben Foster   Brass Arrangment

Customer Reviews