Nina Revisited: A Tribute to Nina Simone

Nina Revisited: A Tribute to Nina Simone


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


While the year 2015 saw the release of three films inspired by the maverick and icon Nina Simone, Nina Revisited is attached to the documentary What Happened, Miss Simone?, a loving tribute itself, but also a painfully honest one. This possible soundtrack takes a more abstract route while offering the same love and reverence, and it's also an almost-solo album from Lauryn Hill, the driving force behind six of the album's 16 tracks. A traditional and stately take on "Feeling Good" is the obvious pick for the artist, but her bold and vicious delivery of "I've Got Life" is equally as grand. Her "Wild Is the Wind" is elegance with an edge, while "Black Is the Color of My True Love's Hair" is surprisingly spacy but solidly built, and with Robert Glasper's name among the album's producers credits, the backing band is expectedly red hot. Glasper surrounds Mary J. Blige with a tight and small R&B band on "Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood" and they make the song sound rightfully huge, and on the other end of the spectrum, there's Usher going full Michael Jackson as he turns "My Baby Just Cares for Me" into a sweet "The Girl Is Mine"-soundalike. The jazz-rap gift of "We Are Young, Gifted and Black" (Common and Lalah Hathaway), a funky and furious "Sinnerman" (Gregory Porter), and a reggae take on "Baltimore" inspired by the Tamlins version (Jazmine Sullivan) display how Simone's influence is felt far and wide to this day. Add a closing number from the artist herself and this free-form tribute becomes a fine and soul-lifting celebration.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/10/2015
Label: Rca
UPC: 0888751136229
catalogNumber: 511362
Rank: 51594

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Stephanie Bennett   Harp
Eric Gales   Guitar
Vincent Henry   Guitar
Grace   Background Vocals
James Francis   Keyboards
Joe Harley   Piano
Darryl Jenifer   Bass,Guitar
James Poyser   Keyboards
Salaam Remi   Bass,Drums,Keyboards
Lauryn Hill   Vocals,Background Vocals
Natalie Leggett   Violin
Rudy Stein   Celli
Marshall York   Drums
Michael Valerio   Acoustic Bass
Sylvain Luc   Guitar
Sarah Thornblade   Violin
Chris Sholar   Guitar
Vicente Archer   Bass
Robert Glasper   Keyboards
DiViNCi   Synthesizer
Maria Jeffers   Cello
Songa Lee   Violin
George "Spanky" McCurdy   Drums
James Rouse   Drums
Keyon Harrold   Horn
Maxwell Drummey   Synthesizer,Strings,Conductor,Keyboards
Luke Maurer   Viola
Matthew Funes   Viola
Sarah Parkins   Violin
Carty   Bass Guitar,Acoustic Bass
Corey King   Horn
John Ellis   Horn
Michel Ferre   Organ,Synthesizer,Piano,Wurlitzer
Ray Angry   Organ,Synthesizer,Key Bass
Charisa Rouse   Violin,Viola
Elena Pinderhughes   Flute
Jon Batiste   Organ,Synthesizer,Keyboards,Wurlitzer
David Watson   Flute
Leo Brooks   Acoustic Bass
Justin Tyson   Drums
Burniss Travis   Bass
Jacob Braun   Celli
Ras Kassa Amha Shaka Alexander   Background Vocals
Jordan Peters   Guitar
Stephen Kujala   Flute
Riza Printup   Harp
Jasmin Charles   Violin
Mamuna   Background Vocals
Margaux Whitney   Viola

Technical Credits

Dimitri Tiomkin   Composer
Nina Simone   Composer
Randy Newman   Composer
Jacques Brel   Composer
Tony Black   Engineer
Weldon Irvine   Composer
Angela Davis   Liner Notes
Galt MacDermot   Composer
Bennie Benjamin   Composer
Leslie Bricusse   Composer
Walter Donaldson   Composer
James Francis   Arranger,Composer
Clark Germain   Engineer
Gus Kahn   Composer
Don Newkirk   Engineer,drum programming
Anthony Newley   Composer
Phil Nicolo   Engineer
Salaam Remi   Arranger,Producer
Andy Taub   Engineer
Billy Taylor   Composer
Ned Washington   Composer
James Rado   Composer
Gerome Ragni   Composer
Lauryn Hill   Composer,Producer,Executive Producer,drum programming
Sol Marcus   Composer
Gloria Caldwell   Composer
Dick Dallas   Composer
Ryan Evans   Engineer
Suzette Williams   Producer,Executive Producer
Peter Edge   Producer,Executive Producer
Traditional   Composer
Chris Sholar   Arranger
Beef Wellington   drum programming
Jeff Gilligan   Art Direction
Robert Glasper   Arranger,Composer,Producer
DiViNCi   Engineer,drum programming
Aaron Nevezie   Engineer
George "Spanky" McCurdy   drum programming
Sam Thomas   Engineer
Fusako Chubachi   Illustrations
Lonnie Lynn   Composer
James Rouse   Engineer,drum programming
Steve McKie   Engineer
Mark "Exit" Goodchild   Engineer
Kory Aaron   Engineer
Chris Tabron   Engineer
Danny Davis   Producer
Corey King   Arranger
Zack Dawson   Engineer
Michel Ferre   Programming,Engineer
Jalacy J. Hawkins   Composer
Omari Salim Stines   Engineer
Jayson Jackson   Producer,Executive Producer
Charisa Rouse   Engineer
Caleb Laven   Engineer
Joel Peters   Engineer
Dan Stringer   Engineer
Natural   Vocal Producer
Joe Hendler   Engineer
Justin Anstotz   Engineer
Dan Tatarowicz   Engineer

Customer Reviews