Nine Days

Nine Days

by Fred Hiatt

Paperback(Reprint)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Overview

A fast-paced contemporary thriller in the vein of James Patterson and Anthony Horowitz set against the bustling backdrop of Hong Kong, Vietnam, and the border of China. This heart-pounding adventure takes place as two teens, an American teenage boy and his friend, a Chinese girl from his Washington, DC-area high school, must find her father who has been kidnapped—and they only have nine days. Although the characters in the novel are fictionalized, they are based on a real Chinese family who were part of the Chinese Democracy Movement and inspired this story.


"Few mysteries combine cultural diversity, politics and physical danger with a lighthearted friendship. This engaging mix will have great appeal."—Kirkus Reviews

"A captivating thriller grounded in real-world problems."—Publishers Weekly

"A rollicking and fast-paced young adult adventure novel."—South China Morning Post

"Hiatt...offers middle-school-aged readers an appealing mix of action and friendship, with lessons about world events and human rights woven throughout."—Washington Post Book World

“A compelling, teen-centric political thriller . . . inspired by actual events.”—BooklistOnline.com

A NCSS/CBC Notable Children's Trade Book in the Field of Social Studies

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780385742818
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 04/08/2014
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 256
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.25(h) x 0.54(d)
Age Range: 12 - 17 Years

About the Author

FRED HIATT is the editorial page editor of The Washington Post. He writes editorials for the newspaper as well as a biweekly column.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Nine Days 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yeeeeaaaaaaaaahhhhhh bbbbboooooooiiiiiii! Second win!!!!!!!!! Yea suck-as. whoop de doup de dooo!!!!! It is partay time lets do this! ;) *partys with everybody then posts this on March 3rd 2014*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Haha i am the first one to make a review and i haven't read the book so deal with it