No Boys Allowed

No Boys Allowed

by Keri HilsonKeri Hilson


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.


A popular and strange opinion prior to the late 2010 release of No Boys Allowed was that Keri Hilson's career was on life support. Her 2009 debut album failed to go platinum, but a number one R&B single and a number two R&B single, along with nominations for Soul Train, BET, American Music, and the Grammy Awards, did not exactly place her on a fast track to the Shanachie label's covers-album exile. And yet, her follow-up isn't merely eager to stand out -- she and her support staff go all out and aim for pop dominance. Hilson, despite being a gifted songwriter, contributes to only five of the 11 songs, while a vast assortment of collaborators -- a number that dwarfs that of In a Perfect World... -- are enlisted. The most emblematic track is "The Way You Love Me," rowdy and sexually direct dance-pop ("I got the kinda lovin' that'll keep you off the streets") with screaming vocals and blaring sonics. There is a handful of direct hits, like the Danja-produced "Toy Soldier" (palpable heartache that hangs in suspension), the sleek StarGate/Esther Dean collaboration "Lose Control" (despite an "anus"/"famous" rhyme from Nelly), and "Gimme What I Want," something of a part two to both "Turnin' Me On" and "Get Your Money Up" (featuring a phenomenal shape-shifting beat from Boi-1da).

Product Details

Release Date: 12/21/2010
Label: Interscope Records
UPC: 0602527536804
catalogNumber: 001508802

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Keri Hilson   Primary Artist
John Stephens   Piano
Mikkel Storleer Eriksen   Instrumental
James Lewis   Guitar
Tor Erik Hermansen   Instrumental
Mike Scott   Guitar
Veronika Bozeman   Background Vocals
Jason "JP" Perry   Keyboards
Andre Yu   Cello

Technical Credits

Bill Withers   Composer
Kevin McCall   Composer
Jerome "J-Roc" Harmon   Composer,Producer
Timbaland   Producer
Todd Gallopo   Art Direction
Jerry "Wonda" Duplessis   Composer,Producer
Chris Godbey   Engineer
Stargate   Producer
Jamal Jones   Composer
Arden Altino   Composer,Producer
John Stephens   Composer
Keri Hilson   Arranger,Composer,Vocal Arrangements,Vocal Producer
Sergio "Sergical" Tsai   Engineer
Chris Brown   Composer
Bei Maejor   Additional Production
Miles Walker   Engineer
Mikkel Storleer Eriksen   Composer,Engineer
Damien Lewis   Engineer
Chuck Harmony   Producer
Bryan "The Beard" Jones   Engineer,Vocal Engineer
Tor Erik Hermansen   Composer
Timothy Thomas   Composer
T. Clayton   Composer
Theron Thomas   Composer
Corey Shoemaker   Engineer
Nate Hills   Composer
Boi-1DA   Producer
Charlie Bereal   Composer,Producer
Mike "TrakGuru" Johnson   Engineer,Vocal Engineer
C. Harmon   Composer
Jeremy Stevenson   Engineer
William Roberts   Composer
Polow da Don   Producer,Executive Producer,Additional Production
Paul Dawson   Composer
C. Haynes   Composer
Matthew Burnett   Additional Production
Matthew Samuels   Composer
Kevin Schinstock   Engineer
Veronika Bozeman   Vocal Producer
Dalya Taman   Creative Coordinator
Kesia Hollins   Composer
Jazmyn Michel   Composer
India Boodram   Composer
Hollywood Hotsauce   Producer
Stanley Benton   Composer
Brandon Green   Composer

Customer Reviews