No More Normal

No More Normal

by SwindleSwindle


$15.30 $15.99 Save 4% Current price is $15.3, Original price is $15.99. You Save 4%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Cameron Palmer, the British producer better known as Swindle, has always viewed the world through a wider scope than his peers in the U.K. bass music scene. First appearing with a couple of mixtapes during the late 2000s, his bounty of releases during the 2010s have reconnected dubstep, grime, and garage with roots in funk, jazz, and hip-hop, marrying speaker-punishing bass and angular rhythms with talkbox vocals and soulful guitar licks. His full-lengths have been particularly ambitious, with 2015's Peace, Love & Music serving as a virtual trip around the world. No More Normal appears on Gilles Peterson's Brownswood Recordings, a longtime haven for eclectic dance artists with a predilection for live instrumentation and vocalists, and the album maintains an organic feel with rich strings, triumphant horns, and warm, comforting guitars. At the center of the arrangements are the beats, which are strong and measured, leaning towards a laid-back Southern bounce but not beholden to any particular style, scene, or era. All of the songs feature sung, spoken, or rapped vocals, with most tracks featuring multiple guests, all of whom come together to deliver uplifting messages of hope and solidarity. The driving force uniting everyone and everything is music, as declared in the brief but potent opening statement "What We Do." Grime emcees such as P Money, D Double E, and Ghetts relate tales of life struggles, but don't get caught up in violence and gun talk (with the exception of "Drill Work," which is still pretty tame compared to most U.K. drill music). D Double E's "Take It Back" is fondly nostalgic, but ultimately encourages the listener to look towards the future. Songs such as the throwback funk tune "Reach the Stars" similarly promote the following of one's dreams. "California" (with Etta Bond and Kojey Radical) takes a break to pine for a day of rest and relaxation on the beach. Eva Lazarus' "Talk a Lot" seems overtly repetitive at first, nearly living up to its lyrics ("You talk a lot but you ain't saying nothing, say something!"), yet its persistence makes it one of the album's most memorable songs, and it sounds so sweet that it can't help but end up being a boost of confidence. Swindle aims high on No More Normal, which is clearly intended for a widespread audience rather than the U.K. underground massive, and its best moments are grand and inspirational.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/08/2019
Label: Brownswood
UPC: 5060180323707
catalogNumber: 191
Rank: 93897

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Swindle   Primary Artist
Andy Nicholson   Guitar
Wayne Urquhart   Cello
D Double E   Vocals
Stella Page   Viola
Antonia Pagulatos   Violin
Daley   Vocals
Rider Shafique   Vocals
Ghetts   Vocals
Alex Talan   Guitar
Eva Lazarus   Vocals
Etta Bond   Vocals
Riot Jazz Brass Band   Horn
Knucks   Vocals
Andrew Ashong   Bass,Guitar,Vocals
Sam Kennedy   Violin
J-Felix   Bass,Guitar
Kiko Bun   Bass,Vocals
Yussef Dayes   Drums
Nubya Garcia   Saxophone
Kojey Radical   Vocals
Cristiano Castellitto   Drums
Cameron Palmer   Talk Box
Sam Ns Q   Bass

Technical Credits

Andy Nicholson   Composer
Neil Waters   Arranger
Swindle   Producer
Justin "Ghetts" Clarke-Samuel   Composer
Alex Talan   Composer
Eva Lazarus   Composer
Gareth Daley   Composer
Joe Newman   Composer
Darren Dixon   Composer
Paris Moore–Williams   Composer
Andrew Ashong   Composer
Federico Marin   Composer
Nubya Garcia   Composer
Ashley Nwachukwu   Composer
Kwadwo Adu Genfi Amponsah   Composer
Henrietta Bond   Composer
Cameron Palmer   Composer

Customer Reviews