No More Sad Refrains: The Anthology

No More Sad Refrains: The Anthology

by Sandy DennySandy Denny

CD(Dutch Import)

$16.41 $16.99 Save 3% Current price is $16.41, Original price is $16.99. You Save 3%.


Thanks to her seminal work with the great English folk-rock group Fairport Convention through her consistently memorable solo career (which was cut short by her untimely death in 1978), Sandy Denny's haunting, dusky vocals and vividly bittersweet songwriting continue to exercise a powerful mystique. Robert Plant has called Denny his favorite female singer, and invited her to duet with him on "The Battle of Evermore" on Led Zeppelin's fourth album. This smartly assembled two-CD set offers an excellent distillation of the artist's best and most influential work. No More Sad Refrains commences with five tracks from Fairport's late-'60s heyday, including the classic "Who Knows Where the Time Goes" (subsequently popularized by Judy Collins) and a rarely heard cover of the Byrds chestnut "Ballad of Easy Rider." The collection then dives headlong into the artist's subsequent combo Fotheringay and her often fascinating solo career, with such standout numbers as "Listen Listen," "John the Gun," "I'm a Dreamer," and "It'll Take A Long Time." The intelligently-annotated set also features several rare or previously unreleased tracks, including the rare 1972 singles "Here in Silence" and "Man of Iron"; covers of Buddy Holly's "Learning the Game" and the Everly Brothers' "When Will I Be Loved," both from the legendary folk-rock supersession album The Bunch: Rock On; and a pair of unreleased demos from Denny's return stint with Fairport Convention in the mid-'70s

Product Details

Release Date: 08/01/2000
Label: Universal I.S.
UPC: 0731454274722
catalogNumber: 5427472

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sandy Denny   Primary Artist,Guitar,Piano,Vocals
Dave Swarbrick   Mandolin,Violin,Viola
Fairport Convention   Track Performer
Steve Winwood   Organ,Electric Piano
Jerry Donahue   Guitar,Background Vocals
Sue Glover   Vocals
Ashley Hutchings   Bass,Vocals
Sunny Leslie   Vocals
Trevor Lucas   Guitar,Vocals,12-string Guitar
Simon Nicol   Guitar,Vocals
Dave Pegg   Bass
Jess Roden   Vocals
Bunch   Track Performer
Sneaky Pete Kleinow   Pedal Steel Guitar
John "Rabbit" Bundrick   Organ,Piano,Keyboards
Gerry Conway   Drums,Background Vocals
Timi Donald   Drums
Pat Donaldson   Bass,Background Vocals
Barry Dransfield   Violin,Background Vocals
Robin Dransfield   Background Vocals
Kay Garner   Vocals
LadybiRdS   Vocals
Martin Lamble   Drums
Graham Lyle   Vocals
Dave Mattacks   Conga,Drums
Ian Matthews   Percussion,Vocals
Linda Peters   Background Vocals
Tony Reeves   Bass
Jean Roussel   Keyboards
Clare Torry   Vocals
Ian Whiteman   Organ,Flute,Piano
Royston Wood   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Sandy Denny   Producer
Richard Thompson   Composer
John Wood   Producer,Engineer
Trevor Lucas   Producer,Engineer
Joe Boyd   Producer
Jerry Boys   Engineer
Linda Peters   Duet
Harry Robinson   String Arrangements,Orchestral Arrangements
Clinton Heylin   Liner Notes
Traditional   Composer

Customer Reviews