No Time Like the Future

No Time Like the Future

by IncognitoIncognito


$15.19 $15.99 Save 5% Current price is $15.19, Original price is $15.99. You Save 5%.


There may be no time like the future, but from the opening piano of "Wild and Peaceful" (featuring the smooth, sweet vocals of Maysa Leak) to the R&B-ballad sway of the Karen Bernód sung "More of Myself," Incognito leader Jean-Paul "Bluey" Maunick wears the past as comfortably as a form-fitting T-shirt. Funk and soul drive NO TIME LIKE THE FUTURE (as on "Get into My Groove," "Nights over Egypt " and "It Ain't Easy," featuring dance diva Jocelyn Brown); the songwriter/arranger/bassist's full-throttle performances are a throwback to when bands made their money not by just selling records but by selling out venues coast to coast. But Maunick's son Daniel keeps Maunick from getting stuck in a rut, however successful. With drum programming and synths, the 20-year-old adds drum 'n' bass and chill-out textures one never knew were missing, as on the hypnotic "Black Rain" and the slightly off-kilter "Fearless." The future looks bright indeed. --Marie Elsie St. Léger

Product Details

Release Date: 07/14/2009
Label: Imports
UPC: 0731453894723
catalogNumber: 911786

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Incognito   Primary Artist
Ed Jones   Flute,Bass Clarinet,Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Jocelyn Brown   Vocals,Background Vocals
Maysa   Vocals,Background Vocals
Thomas Dyani-Akuru   Percussion
Chris Ballin   Background Vocals
Bud Beadle   Alto Saxophone
Maxton G. Beesley   Drums
Karen Bernód   Vocals,Background Vocals
Matt Coleman   Trombone
Julian Crampton   Bass
Graham Harvey   Keyboards
Randy Hope-Taylor   Bass
Paul Lewis   Background Vocals
Jean-Paul "Bluey" Maunick   Guitar,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Kevin Robinson   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Gary Sanctuary   Keyboards
Fayyaz Virji   Trombone
Simon Hale   Conductor
Chris DeMargary   Flute,Baritone Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Irving Acao   Tenor Saxophone
Román Filiú   Alto Saxophone
Mark Anthoni   Background Vocals
Ogadinma Umelo   Background Vocals
Valerie Etienne   Background Vocals
Dominic "Ski" Oakenfull   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Veronique DeMargary   Background Vocals
Dominic Glover   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Joanne Howard   Talking
Paul Lewis   Background Vocals
Richard Bailey   Drums

Technical Credits

Ed Jones   Horn Arrangements
Thomas Bird   Art Direction
Simon Cotsworth   Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Graham Harvey   Composer,drum programming
Randy Hope-Taylor   Composer
Jean-Paul "Bluey" Maunick   Composer,Producer,Horn Arrangements
Kevin Robinson   Horn Arrangements
Simon Hale   String Arrangements
Daniel Maunick   drum programming
Alison Butler   grooming
Dominic "Ski" Oakenfull   Composer,drum programming
Tom Jenkins   Engineer
Dominic Glover   Horn Arrangements
Sharon Blankson   Fashion Stylist
Steve Price   Engineer

Customer Reviews