by Jakob LindbergJakob Lindberg

SACD(Super Audio CD - SACD Hybrid)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Benjamin Britten's "Nocturnal" was composed for the guitar in 1963 and premiered by the great Julian Bream the following year. To recast it, which was something Britten never had in mind, seems risky, but Swedish lutenist Jakob Lindberg makes a good argument for the procedure with his lute version of the work, which he calls a setting. For one thing, he situates it among an intriguing variety of English Renaissance lute works, most of them unfamiliar. Even the pieces by John Dowland are not the ones in everyday circulation; sample the fascinating chromatics of "Farewell," and Lindberg's edgy, intense treatment of the piece, and you may be ready to accept the album without even worrying about the Britten. There are some unusual composers represented: Edward Collard and John Danyel. And the Britten itself is cast in a new light by Lindberg's playing; the work's connections to its model by Dowland ("Come, Heavy Sleep") are emphasized, with the result that this reverse set of variations, with the music approaching the original theme, seems perhaps to reveal its connections more quickly. It's an intriguing experiment that seems in tune with the spirit of the Britten work, and Lindberg continues to have a uniquely fervent style. BIS' sound is clear enough and avoids extraneous noise, but the church acoustic lacks needed intimacy.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/06/2018
Label: Bis
UPC: 7318599920825
catalogNumber: 2082
Rank: 73247


  1. Good Night and Good Rest, for lute (from the Mathew Holmes Lute Book)
  2. Carman's Whistle, for lute
  3. Passingmeasures Pavin
  4. Farewell Fancy (Chromatic fantasia), for lute, P 3
  5. Mr Dowland's Midnight, almain for lute, P 99
  6. Galliard to Lachrimae, for lute, P 46 (A Pilgrimes Solace)
  7. Orlando Sleepeth, arrangement for lute, P 61
  8. Fantasia, for lute, P 73 (possibly spurious)
  9. A Dream, pavan for lute, P 75 (possibly spurious)
  10. Nocturnal after John Dowland, for guitar, Op. 70
  11. Lullaby, for keyboard, MB 110 (doubtful)
  12. The English Nightingale (Skene Mandora MS)
  13. Remember me at evening (Skene Mandora MS)
  14. Flowers of the Forest
  15. Mistress Anne Grene Her Leaves Be Greene
  16. Pavin, for lute
  17. Hugh Aston's Ground
  18. Go from My Window, for lute
  19. The Fairie-Round, coranto
  20. The Countess of Pembroke's Paradise
  21. The Night Watch, for viol consort
  22. Muy linda, galliard for lute
  23. The Honie-Suckle, almain

Album Credits

Customer Reviews