Noise: A Human History of Sound and Listening

Noise: A Human History of Sound and Listening

by David Hendy


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, November 20


Noise explores the human dramas that have revolved around sound at various points in the last 100,000 years, allowing us to think in fresh ways about the meaning of our collective past.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062283085
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 08/26/2014
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 272
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

David Hendy is a fellow of the Royal Historical Society and Professor of Media and Communications at the University of Sussex. He has been a visiting research fellow at the University of Cambridge; Yale University; and Indiana University, Bloomington. He worked as a journalist and producer at the BBC, and in 2011 was awarded the James W. Carey Award for Outstanding Journalism by the Media Ecology Association of North America for his five-part BBC Radio 3 series, Rewiring the Mind. His book Life on Air: A History of Radio Four won the Longman-History Today Book of the Year Award.

Table of Contents

Introduction ix

I Prehistoric Voiceprints

1 Echoes in the Dark 3

2 The Beat of Drums 11

3 The Singing Wilderness 20

4 A Ritual Soundscape 28

5 The Rise of the Shamans 37

II The Age of Oratory

6 Epic Tales 51

7 Persuasion 61

8 Babble: The Noisy, Everyday World of Ancient Rome 72

9 The Roaring Crowd 82

10 The Ecstatic Underground 92

III Sounds of the Spirit and of Satan

11 The Bells 105

12 Tuning the Body 115

13 Heavenly Sounds 123

14 Carnival 134

15 Restraint 144

IV Power and Revolt

16 Colonists 157

17 Shutting In 167

18 Master and Servant 179

19 Slavery and Rebellion 190

20 Revolution and War 201

V The Rise of the Machines

21 The Conquering Engines: Industrial Revolution 213

22 The Beat of a Heart, the Tramp of a Fly 223

23 The New Art of Listening 232

24 Life in the City 242

25 Capturing Sound 254

VI The Amplified Age

26 Shell Shock 269

27 Radio Everywhere! 282

28 Music While You Shop, Music While You Work 294

29 An Ever Noisier World 304

30 The Search for Silence 313

Epilogue 323

Acknowledgements 333

Notes 336

Index 369

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews