by Ne-YoNe-Yo
1 New & Used Starting at $25.76


There are considerable reasons to approach Non-Fiction with doubt. It follows R.E.D., Shaffer Smith's least satisfying studio set. His first release to fall short of gold-selling status, R.E.D. was trailed by another series of support roles on dance-pop singles and rap album cuts. David Guetta's "Play Hard" was the lone track to leave an impression, and it did so far outside the U.S. The first single from Non-Fiction preceded the album by eight months. It and those that followed were all high-profile collaborations, like it didn't matter that eight of Ne-Yo's nine Top Ten R&B hits were made without the involvement of a rapper. A look at the back of Non-Fiction's standard 14-track edition prompts more skepticism: the first three songs are propped up by guests, while track five is "Time of Our Lives," the fifth single from Pitbull's Globalization, featuring Ne-Yo. Patched together and sprawling even in standard form -- it's the television edit compared to the director's cut deluxe edition -- Non-Fiction nonetheless contains more standouts than any Ne-Yo album since Because of You. There's some frivolous content, such as the fireside acoustic number "Story Time" and rote EDM squib "Who's Taking You Home." Beyond that, there's a lot of imaginative and high-quality modern R&B, like "She Knows," "She Said I'm Hood Though," and "One More," all tough but finely crafted slow jams. In the last of that bunch, listeners who dismiss Ne-Yo as soft might chuckle at "I would love the opportunity to rub your feet" and miss that it's a set up for the suggestion of a three-way. The smaller uptempo portion is highlighted by "Coming with You," a dazzling Stargate production like no other that contains a hip-house core and soars. Closing track "Congratulations," another superlative ballad, is like a more mature alternate version of Year of the Gentleman cut "Fade Into the Background," where Ne-Yo once again concedes the loss of a woman who's "wifey material." [A clean version of Non-Fiction was also released.]

Product Details

Release Date: 01/27/2015
Label: Motown
UPC: 0602547158567
catalogNumber: 002252402


  1. Run
  2. Integrity
  3. One More
  4. Who's Taking You Home
  5. Time of Our Lives
  6. Coming With You
  7. Good Morning
  8. Make It Easy
  9. Money Can't Buy
  10. Religious
  11. She Knows
  12. She Said I'm Hood Tho
  13. Story Time
  14. Congratulations

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ne-Yo   Primary Artist,Vocals
Jeroen DeRijk   Shaker
Juicy J   Vocals
Pitbull   Vocals
Giorgio Tuinfort   Piano
Anne VanEck   Violin
Pierre-Luc Rioux   Guitar
Franck Van Der Heijden   Conductor
David Faber   Cello
Ben Mathot   Violin
Judith Van Driel   Violin
Mark Mulder   Violin
Candice Boyd   Vocals
Marleen Wester   Violin
Loes Dooren   Violin
Keimpke Zigterman   Cello
Inger Van Vliet   Violin
Ian De Jong   Violin
Hinse Mutter   Bass
Heleen Knoop   Violin
Evelien Van Der Kamp   Violin
Diewertje Wanders   Violin
Tseroeja Van Den Bos   Violin
Judith Eisenhardt   Violin
Jascha Bordon   Cello
Elise Noordhoek   Violin
Annemarie Hensens   Violin
Sofie Van Der Pol   Violin
Joep Deiman   Bass
Douwe Nauta   Violin
Bas Goossens   Violin

Technical Credits

William DeVaughn   Composer
Tony Hester   Composer
Dennis Martin   Composer
Stargate   Producer
Jordan Houston   Composer
Lavell Crump   Composer
Curtis "Sauce" Wilson   Engineer,Vocal Producer
David Banner   Producer
Danny D.   Executive Producer
Luke   Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
David Guetta   Composer,Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Shaffer Smith   Composer
Paul Power   Engineer
Mike Foster   Engineer
DJ Montay   Producer
Miles Walker   Engineer
Mikkel Storleer Eriksen   Composer,Engineer,Instrumentation
Burna   Composer,Engineer
Giorgio Tuinfort   Composer,Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Reynell "Tango" Hay   Executive Producer
Ethiopia Habtemariam   Executive Producer
Montay Humphrey "DJ Montay"   Composer
Tim Blacksmith   Executive Producer
Lifted   Programming,Instrumentation
Daddy's Groove   Programming
Moses Gallart   Engineer,Vocal Engineer
A.C. Perez   Composer
Tor Erik Hermansen   Composer,Instrumentation
Mario Hugo   Art Direction
Poly   Producer
Jay Jenkins   Composer
Franck Van Der Heijden   Orchestration
Clifford Harris   Composer
Shea Taylor   Composer,Producer
Eelco Bakker   Engineer
Korey Roberson   Composer
Jesse Wilson   Composer
Clint Gibbs   Engineer
Lukasz Gottwald   Composer
Daniela Rivera   Engineer
Cirkut   Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Giuseppe Folliero   Engineer
Dan Croll   Composer
Dwane Weir   Composer
Quincy Hanley   Composer
Darhyl "DJ" Camper   Composer,Producer
Phillip Eugene Perry   Composer
Glass John   Producer
Jesse "Corparal" Wilson   Producer,Additional Production
Jerry Ibarra   Engineer
Stephan Taft   Composer
Jaytez   Producer
Dwane "Key Wayne" Weire   Producer
Brian De Leon   Illustrations
Brandon "B.A.M." Hodge   Composer,Producer
Henry Walter   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews