Not a Pretty Girl

Not a Pretty Girl

by Ani DiFrancoAni DiFranco

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


On her relatively spare sixth album (which features only one other musician, percussionist/vocalist Andy Stochansky, and, on one song, singer Kate Fenner), Ani DiFranco takes on a few expected topics, such as abortion ("Tiptoe"), capital punishment ("Crime for Crime"), and why she isn't on a major label ("The Million You Never Made"). But much of the disc is given over to introspective ruminations on personal life and love. As usual, the singer is not shy (despite a song of that title) about offering criticism of the person or persons she's addressing, but she is also self-critical and even, on "Sorry I Am," apologetic. The songs do not add up to the complete story of a relationship, but there are some deeply felt portraits here, especially "Light of Some Kind," in which the singer seems to be confessing to a man that she has been unfaithful to him with a woman. As usual, the imagery is urban and gritty; DiFranco is the kind of writer who likes to tell you that she's got last night's underwear in her back pocket as she rides home on the subway on the afternoon following an assignation. But the sometimes messy details are in the service of her view of reality, an unflinching one in which everything can be faced, even the songwriter's emotional torment.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/21/2014
Label: Righteous Babe
UPC: 0748731700713
catalogNumber: 7
Rank: 180300


Disc 1

  1. Worthy
  2. Tiptoe
  3. Cradle and All
  4. Shy
  5. Sorry I Am
  6. Light of Some Kind
  7. Not a Pretty Girl
  8. The Million You Never Made

Disc 2

  1. Hour Follows Hour
  2. 32 Flavors
  3. Asking Too Much
  4. This Bouquet
  5. Crime For Crime
  6. Coming Up

Album Credits

Customer Reviews