Nothin' Matters and What If It Did [Bonus Track]

Nothin' Matters and What If It Did [Bonus Track]

by John CougarJohn Cougar

CD(Bonus Tracks / Repackaged)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


One year after John Cougar's "I Need a Lover" gave him his first hit single, Cougar released Nothin' Matters and What If It Did, an album that began to unravel his fondness for small-town simplicity and the pride inherited from being brought up in America's heartland. Each song from the album characterizes Cougar's non-threatening, rebellious farm-boy attitude, from the Springsteen-like overtones of "Wild Angel" to the pleading gentleness of "Don't Misunderstand Me." "This Time," carried through with its jubilant, bouncy pace and countrified vocal style, hit number 27 in 1980, with the sultry yet rustic innocence of "Ain't Even Done with the Night" climbing ten spots higher as the album's second single. A good feel for Cougar's passive yet warm approach to rock & roll can be found on Nothin' Matters, even within the lyrics of minor efforts like "Hot Night in a Cold Town" or "To M.G." Following this album was his monumental American Fool release, a solid package for Cougar and one that Nothin' Matters played the prototype for. [This version of the album includes the bonus track "Latest Game."]

Product Details

Release Date: 03/29/2005
Label: Mercury
UPC: 0602498801390
catalogNumber: 000419102
Rank: 53481

Album Credits

Performance Credits

John Mellencamp   Primary Artist,Vocals
Kenny Aronoff   Vibes
Jeff Baxter   Pedal Steel Guitar
Larry Crane   Guitar,Background Vocals
Duitch Helmer   Background Vocals
Susan Helmer   Background Vocals
John Jarvis   Piano
Doc Rosser   Piano
Rick Shlosser   Drums
Mike Wanchic   Guitar,Background Vocals
David Woodford   Saxophone
Ed Green   Drums
Larry Cranem   Guitar,Background Vocals
Ferd   Bass
Ed Green   Drums
Robert Frank   Bass Guitar

Technical Credits

Steve Cropper   Producer,Audio Production
Robyn Hitchcock   Composer
Paul Gray   Composer
Richard Littlefield   Composer
Lee Loughnane   Composer
John Mellencamp   Composer
Phil Mogg   Composer
Chips Moman   Composer
Bruce Robb   Producer
Aaron Rapoport   Sleeve Photo
Edith Masey   Cover Model
Ryan Null   Photo Coordination
Geoffrey Cushing-Murray   Composer
Dawn Patrol   Cover Art

Customer Reviews