Now Is the Time

Now Is the Time

by AnointedAnointed


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Almost out of nowhere, brother-sister duo Anointed returned to the gospel and CCM scenes with Now Is the Time, their sixth album and first for Columbia Records. Nobody was expecting a comeback, especially after four years of inactivity following their departure from longtime label Word Records, personnel changes, and a shifting artistic identity that constantly saw them teetering between soaring adult contemporary and urbanized contemporary gospel. Now Is the Time is no different in this regard, picking up right where 2001's ultra-modern If We Pray left off, but adding a more genuinely gospel element than they attained during their Word years. One need not look further than the rousing "Gonna Lift Your Name" and the cover of Andraé Crouch's "Jesus Is Lord" (featuring Crouch himself) to notice that Anointed can have church when it wants to, which hasn't been the case for a great part of their career. Elsewhere, the tandem is back to seesawing indistinctly between pop and contemporary R&B, showing more predilection for the former, as the bulk of Now Is the Time's second half is decidedly ballad-heavy -- you'd think you're listening to Avalon for all you know. In light of the sass and spunk the siblings are capable of ("Gotta Move," "Mighty Long Way"), this proclivity toward generic, predictable balladry renders Now Is the Time a bit of a letdown -- likable, yes, but too inconsistent for its own good.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/05/2005
Label: Sony
UPC: 0827969092927
catalogNumber: 90929
Rank: 183401

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Anointed   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Andraé Crouch   Vocals,Guest Appearance
George Cocchini   Guitar
Da'dra Crawford   Vocals
Steve Crawford   Vocals
Mark Douthit   Saxophone
Mike Haynes   Trumpet
Mark Heimermann   Keyboards
Chris McDonald   Trombone
Scott Williamson   Drums
Vinnie Ciesielski   Horn
Roger Ryan   Piano
Tiffany Ransom   Background Vocals
Jerard Woods   Background Vocals
Roy Agee   Horn
Akil Thompson   Rhythm Guitar
Michael Ripoll   Guitar
Melinda Doolittle   Background Vocals
Bryan Russell   Bass
Jovaun Woods   Background Vocals
Mark Hill   Bass
Jimmy Bowland   Horn
Teddy Campbell   Drums
Lamar Carter   Drums
Kimberly Mont   Background Vocals
Schuyler Duryee   Guitar
Dontae Winslow   Horn
Benita Washington   Background Vocals
Divine Order Horns   Horn

Technical Credits

Danny Duncan   Engineer
Anointed   Producer,Audio Production
Andraé Crouch   Composer
Lloyd Barry   Horn Arrangements
Da'dra Crawford   Composer
Steve Crawford   Composer
Mark Heimermann   Composer,Programming
Rev. Patrick Henderson   Composer
Chris McDonald   Horn Arrangements
Todd Robbins   Engineer
Jeff Pitzer   Engineer
Roger Ryan   Producer,Engineer,String Arrangements
Jeremy Bose   Composer
Jason Gaines   drum programming
Wayne Campbell   Composer
Warryn Campbell   Producer
Michelle Holme   Art Direction
Bruce Buechner   Engineer
Shamora Crawford   Executive Producer
Gwenael Barre   Engineer
Chris Rainwater   Engineer
Dadra Crawford Greathouse   Producer,Executive Producer
Mark Heimerman   Audio Production
Sean Cooper   Sound Design

Customer Reviews