NOW That's What I Call ACM Awards 50 Years

NOW That's What I Call ACM Awards 50 Years


$17.37 $19.99 Save 13% Current price is $17.37, Original price is $19.99. You Save 13%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, November 21


While this 34-track compilation celebrates the half-centennial of the Academy of Country Music Awards, its contents don't go back quite that far. Moreover, it goes in reverse chronological order, so fans of contemporary country can hear their favorite hits on the set's first disc. This basically addresses the tradition's split into two camps -- the modern era that began in 1991 (with Brooks & Dunn in some historical revisionism), and everything that came before. Interestingly enough, Garth Brooks, the man who unintentionally caused the rift, is nowhere represented. Disc one features smash hits by Lady Antebellum ("Need You Now"), Taylor Swift ("Mean"), Miranda Lambert "The House That Built Me"), Lee Brice ("I Drive Your Truck"), Lee Ann Womack ("I Hope You Dance"), Kenny Chesney ("The Good Stuff"), Faith Hill ("This Kiss"), and Tim McGraw ("Live Like You Were Dyin'"), to name a few. Disc two starts in 1989 with Clint Black's "Better Man," revisits 1987 with Randy Travis' "Forever and Ever Amen" and the Highwaymen in 1985 with their signature theme, 1983's Kenny Rogers and Dolly Parton duet ("Islands in the Stream"), and Willie Nelson in 1982 ("Always on My Mind"). Before these are Alabama and the Oak Ridge Boys, George Jones, Don Williams, Glen Campbell, and Charlie Rich, and going all the way back to Merle Haggard with his 1969 novelty song "Okie from Muskogee," which closes out the set.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/31/2015
Label: Ume
UPC: 0600753591451
catalogNumber: 002286302
Rank: 10058

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Bill Anderson   Composer
Clint Black   Composer
Beth Nielsen Chapman   Composer
Merle Haggard   Composer
Paul Overstreet   Composer
Robin Gibb   Composer
Larry Weiss   Composer
Larry Gatlin   Composer
Bobby Braddock   Composer
Barry Gibb   Composer
Buddy Cannon   Composer
Johnny Christopher   Composer
Tim DuBois   Composer
Ronnie Dunn   Composer
Dallas Frazier   Composer
Maurice Gibb   Composer
Connie Harrington   Composer
Harlan Howard   Composer
Alan Jackson   Composer
Brent Maher   Composer
Jim McBride   Composer
Tim Nichols   Composer
Curly Putman   Composer
Mark Sanders   Composer
Allen Shamblin   Composer
Sonny Throckmorton   Composer
Hank Williams   Composer
Craig Wiseman   Composer
Rhett Akins   Composer
David Lee Murphy   Composer
Brett James   Composer
Annie Roboff   Composer
Kenny O'Dell   Composer
Jim Collins   Composer
Wayne Carson Thompson   Composer
Robin Lerner   Composer
Kelley Lovelace   Composer
Don Schlitz   Composer
Tia Sillers   Composer
Jim Hunt   Composer
Jimmy Yeary   Composer
Danny Flowers   Composer
Dave Haywood   Composer
Kelly Clarkson   Composer
Hillary Scott   Composer
Hillary Lindsey   Composer
David Hodges   Composer
Ben Moody   Composer
Jessi Alexander   Composer
Jamey Johnson   Composer
Taylor Swift   Composer
Ashley Gorley   Composer
Luke Bryan   Composer
Josh Kear   Composer
Charles Kelley   Composer
Tom Douglas   Composer
Roy Burris   Composer
Ben Hayslip   Composer
Dallas Davidson   Composer
Gordon Sampson   Composer
Leon Copeland   Composer
Nicholas James Hayden   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews