Obsidian Mirror (Obsidian Mirror Series #1)

Obsidian Mirror (Obsidian Mirror Series #1)

by Catherine Fisher

Paperback

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

The obsidian mirror. Its power is great and terrible. Men have been lost in it, the dead brought back to life through it, and the future annihilated by it. Or this is what will happen unless the mirror is destroyed. Three people seek the mirror: the first has been sent from the future to shatter its power; the second will protect the mirror at all costs, obsessed with its power; and the third needs the mirror to find a murdered father and save his life. But only one can succeed.

The mirror can send you to the past, but it will not bring you back.

With superb world-building that includes the real world, the faery world, and a dystopic future, this hauntingly astonishing adventure is the start of a new trilogy from the master of the sci-fi/fantasy genre, Catherine Fisher. Fans of Orson Scott Card, Shakespeare, Grimm, and Blade Runner won't be disappointed.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780142426777
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 03/06/2014
Series: Obsidian Mirror Series , #1
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 801,289
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.30(d)
Age Range: 12 - 17 Years

About the Author

Catherine Fisher (www.catherine-fisher.co.uk and www.incarceronbook.com) acclaimed poet and novelist, was born in Newport, Wales. She graduated from the University of Wales with a degree in English and a fascination for myth and history. She was named the first Children’s Laureate of Wales and was invited to Buckingham Palace to meet Queen Elizabeth. She is the author of the critically acclaimed and New York Times bestselling books Incarceron and Sapphique.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher


Praise for Obsidian Mirror:

• “A spell-binding maze of mystery-filled pages full of unexpected twists and turns that will draw readers in … combines time travel, the fey or faeries, and a future in ruins with potent success… Fans of Kady Cross, Cassandre Clare, and Doctor Who will be enthralled with this must-read title.” -VOYA, starred review

"Fisher effectively alternates brooding mystery with thrilling action. This blend of science fiction and fantasy is certified fresh." -Booklist

"Punctuated with narrow-escape scenes and, in its time-travel plot, hints at thinking about how acts of the present impinge on the future." -The Horn Book

"Readers will be dazzled, captivated, and desperate for the next installment." -Kirkus Reviews

"An engrossing, enthralling fiction." -The New York Times

Customer Reviews