Of Things to Come

Of Things to Come


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Produced in association with Strength magazine, this collection is the soundtrack to a "snowboard film." It's also one of the best compilations of contemporary punk and power pop put out in quite a while. Dillinger Four has great riffs and those non-technical male harmonies, all in overdrive. Keeping the punk sounds of GBH and the Exploited alive, they contribute a primer in under two minutes entitled "Punk By the Book." An ornery live clip is stapled onto the front of the album version of SuperSuckers' "Mudhead." The contribution from ErrorType: 11 is a Nirvana-styled ballad to dislocated youth obviously for the poignant part of the movie. Pinhead Circus hits closer to home with a ripping rocker. Bouncing Souls contributes "Born to Lose," which sounds like an outsiders' drinking song. Another high point is "New Day Rising" from Swingin' Utters, a Pogues for punks. Pegboy throws a vote back in the right direction with "Fade Away" as does Pezz when they ask "how long 'til you crack up?" The remix of "Ugly Stick" from Voodoo Glow Skulls could be out of the Beastie Boys' songbook. Also included in this post-punk compendium are Good Riddance, H2O, Zeke, and an incongruous doom metal piece from Hatebreed.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/02/1999
Label: Better Youth Org.
UPC: 0020282005821
catalogNumber: 58
Rank: 154007


  1. Doublewhiskeycokenoice
  2. Punk by the Book
  3. Mudhead
  4. Your So Great
  5. Eversmile
  6. Six Down
  7. Burn the Lies
  8. Born to Lose
  9. New Day Rising
  10. Thicker Than Water
  11. Fade Away
  12. Pucker Factor
  13. Ugly Stick
  14. Shout It Loud

Album Credits

Customer Reviews