Oklahoma! [MCA/Capitol]

Oklahoma! [MCA/Capitol]


View All Available Formats & Editions
23 New & Used Starting at $1.99


Composer Richard Rodgers and lyricist/librettist Oscar Hammerstein II, who controlled the rights to their record-breaking landmark musical Oklahoma!, took their time putting together a film version, with the movie not arriving until 12 and a half years after the show's Broadway opening. The songwriters' unusual power over the production assured that it would be more faithful than most Hollywood treatments. Only two songs, "Lonely Room" and "It's a Scandal! It's a Outrage!," were excised from the stage show for the two-and-a-half-hour film, for which conductor Jay Blackton and Robert Russell Bennett's orchestrations were retained. The casting responded more to musical values than to box office clout, with Gordon MacRae, best known for several cinematic pairings with Doris Day, taking the male lead role of Curly and 20-year-old Shirley Jones, a Rodgers and Hammerstein discovery, making her film debut as Laurey, the female lead. The two, along with Gloria Grahame in the showcase role of lusty Ado Annie, brought a vocal assurance to their singing that allowed them to be intimate and conversational, giving detail to an otherwise lavish (and possibly oversized) production. These qualities come off especially well on the soundtrack album, as do Bennett's arrangements, which really shine in the stereo separation denied them on the original Broadway cast album. The result is an outstanding rendering of the score that gives it a bigger, broader interpretation and has continued to sound impressive over the decades, which may be one reason why the album, which topped the charts upon release and sold more than two million copies, has remained in print continually since it first appeared.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/19/1993
Label: Angel Records
UPC: 0077776469126
catalogNumber: 64691


  1. Overture
  2. Oh, What A Beautiful Mornin'
  3. The Surrey With the Fringe on Top
  4. Kansas City
  5. I Can't Say No
  6. Many A New Day
  7. People Will Say We're in Love
  8. Pore Jud is Daid
  9. Out of My Dreams
  10. The Farmer and the Cowman
  11. All Er Nothin'
  12. Oklahoma

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Shirley Jones   Vocals,Track Performer
Gordon MacRae   Vocals,Track Performer
James Whitmore   Vocals,Track Performer
Alfred Drake   Vocals,Track Performer
Jay C. Flippen   Track Performer
Rod Steiger   Vocals,Track Performer
Carl Nelson   Vocals
Robert Penn   Vocals
Simon   Vocals
Celeste Holm   Vocals,Track Performer
Ray Harrison   Dancer
Joan Roberts   Vocals,Track Performer
Virginia Oswald   Vocals
Jay Blackton   Conductor
Bobby Barrentine   Dancer
Kenneth Buffet   Dancer
Joseph Buloff   Vocals,Track Performer
Margit Dekova   Dancer
Lee Dixion   Vocals
Kate Friedlich   Dancer
Herbert Rissman   Vocals
Paul Shiers   Vocals
Faye Smith   Vocals
Vivian Smith   Dancer
Billie Zay   Dancer
Elsie Arnold   Vocals
John Baum   Vocals
Edwin Clay   Vocals
Hayes Gordon   Vocals
Suzanne Lloyd   Vocals
Ellen Love   Vocals
Dorothea MacFarland   Vocals
Shirley Jones   Vocals
Lee Dixon   Track Performer
Bambi Linn   Dancer
Diana Adams   Dancer
Gene Nelson   Vocals,Track Performer
Charlotte Greenwood   Vocals,Track Performer
Harvey Brown   Vocals
Ralph Riggs   Vocals
Betty Garde   Vocals
Jay Flippen   Vocals
Joan McCracken   Dancer
Gloria Grahame   Vocals
Howard da Silva   Vocals,Track Performer

Technical Credits

Richard Rodgers   Composer
Peter Matz   Contributor
Robert Russell Bennett   Arranger,Orchestration
Oscar Hammerstein   Composer,Lyricist
Andy McKaie   Executive Producer
Simon   Contributor
Vartan   Art Direction
Martin Owen   Contributor
David Foil   Liner Notes
Max O. Preeo   Liner Notes
Ron O'Brien   Producer
Jacob Schwartzdorf   Director
Vivienne Simon   Contributor
Barry Kelley   Contributor
Marc Platt   Contributor
Robert Norberg   Contributor
Fred Zinnemann   Director,Contributor
Robert Helfer   Contributor

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews