Okonokos [LP] [Bonus Tracks]

Okonokos [LP] [Bonus Tracks]

by My Morning JacketMy Morning Jacket

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

View All Available Formats & Editions


On the double-disc concert album Okonokos, My Morning Jacket harnesses its considerable live energy into an impressive set. Drawing primarily from It Still Moves and Z, the 2006 release features a few of the Louisville, Kentucky-based act's quieter tunes ("I Will Sing You Songs," "Golden"), but focuses primarily on gloriously rocked-out performances, including the surging shoegazer "Gideon" and the searing "One Big Holiday," which conjures up thoughts of the Allman Brothers Band and Mogwai in an on-stage choogle session. While many live records call attention to weaknesses in an ensemble's sound, Okonokos plays to MMJ's strengths (particularly frontman Jim James' and guitarist Carl Bromel's bold, upfront six-string work), proving that the group is an arena rock band in the best possible sense. [Okonokos was released as a four-LP set in 2016 and added four bonus tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 07/29/2016
Label: Ato Records
UPC: 0880882251819
catalogNumber: 225181
Rank: 1868


Disc 1

  1. Wordless Chorus
  2. It Beats 4 U
  3. Gideon
  4. One Big Holiday
  5. I Will Sing You Songs
  6. Lowdown
  7. The Way that He Sings

Disc 2

  1. At Dawn
  2. Golden
  3. What a Wonderful Man
  4. Off the Record
  5. Lay Low
  6. Dondante

Disc 3

  1. Run Thru
  2. Xmas Curtain
  3. O Is the One that Is Real
  4. Steam Engine
  5. Dance Floors

Disc 4

  1. I Think I'm Going to Hell
  2. Anytime
  3. Mahgeetah
  4. Where to Begin
  5. Sooner
  6. Strangulation

Album Credits

Customer Reviews