Old School Rap Party, Vol. 2

Old School Rap Party, Vol. 2




Thump's Old School Rap Party discs are another way to recycle a bunch of popular songs that were compiled too frequently to begin with. This series tends to focus on late-'80s and early-'90s singles that crossed over into the mainstream, and everything is most certainly party oriented. For better or worse (mostly worse), some inclusions merely have rapping in them and have played no role in hip-hop culture whatsoever (Tony! Toni! Toné!'s "Let's Get Down"). Highlights include Gucci Crew's "Sally That Girl," Heavy D & the Boyz' "We Got Our Own Thing," Pharcyde's "Runnin'," and Mantronix's "Fresh Is the Word." With a handful of Tone-Loc and Young MC picks, the disc is actually more of a sampler of the Delicious Vinyl label than old-school rap.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/24/2004
Label: Thump Records
UPC: 0720657914122
catalogNumber: 579141

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Mantronix   Producer
Dennis Coffey   Composer
Disco Rick   Producer
Mike Theodore   Composer
C. Bell   Composer
David Blake   Composer
Charles Clark   Composer
Jermaine Dupri   Composer,Producer
Berry Gordy   Composer
Ike Turner   Composer
V. May   Composer
Darryl McDaniels   Composer
Alphonso Mizell   Composer
Freddie Perren   Composer
M. Pierce   Composer
Deke Richards   Composer
M. Simpson   Composer
Anthony Smith   Composer
George Archie   Composer
Greg Webster   Composer
Raphael Saadiq   Composer,Producer
Connie Durden   Composer
MC Tee   Producer
Dust Brothers   Producer
Matt Dike   Composer
Maria Toledo   Composer
J. Tolbert   Composer
Marvin Young   Composer
J King   Composer
Otwane Roberts   Composer
Romye Robinson   Composer
Cheryl "Salt" James   Producer
C. James   Composer
Bonsai   Composer
Joseph Simmons   Composer
Matt Kike   Producer
Michael Ross   Composer,Producer
Marks Sparks   Composer,Producer
William Walker   Executive Producer
James Yancey   Composer

Customer Reviews