On the 6 [Holland Bonus Tracks]

On the 6 [Holland Bonus Tracks]

by Jennifer Lopez

CD(Dutch Import)

$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 19


Jennifer Lopez's debut album, On the 6, showcases the actress' sultry, versatile voice in a number of settings, including pop ballads, Latin pop, and R&B. Star producers like Sean "Puffy" Combs, Trackmasters, and Emilio Estefan, Jr. lend their talents to the album, making On the 6 a perfectly polished and varied album, which features a musical blend Lopez calls "Latin soul." Smooth ballads such as "Should've Never," "Too Late," "Could This Be Love," and "No Me Ames," a duet with Latin superstar Marc Anthony, dominate the album's first half; while these songs show off the gentler side of Lopez's vocal gifts, they tend to sound too similar. It's on the R&B and Latin-tinged tracks where Lopez really shines. Along with the insistent first single "If You Had My Love," cuts like "Feelin' So Good" and "Let's Get Loud" have a fiery, soulful sound more in keeping with Lopez's public persona. On the 6's second half capitalizes on this spicy, upbeat side, particularly on "Waiting for Tonight" and "Open off My Love," which draws inspiration from rap, R&B, and Latin styles with its sparse arrangement of horns, keyboards, and beats. The tropical remix of "No Me Ames" and "Una Noche Mas," the Spanish version of "Waiting for Tonight," emphasize Lopez's distinctive heritage, which elevates On the 6 from a star's vanity project to an individual but accessible work of pop songcraft by a widely talented performer. [The Holland release adds two bonus tracks: "Baila" and "Theme From Mahagony (Do You Know Where You're Going To)."]

Product Details

Release Date: 08/21/2001
Label: Sony Bmg Europe
UPC: 5099749493025
catalogNumber: 494930
Rank: 110442

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jennifer Lopez   Primary Artist,Vocals
Betty Wright   Background Vocals
Rene Toledo   Guitar
Manny Benito   Vocal Director
Marc Anthony   Track Performer
Donna Allen   Background Vocals
Tom Barney   Fretless Bass Guitar
Edwin Bonilla   Percussion
Sal Cuevas   Bass
Lawrence Dermer   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Margaret Dorn   Background Vocals
Larry Gold   Conductor
Sandy Griffith   Background Vocals
Skyler Jett   Background Vocals
Eric Kupper   Keyboards
Michael Landau   Electric Guitar
Manny López   Acoustic Guitar
Chieli Minucci   Guitar
Dean Parks   Steel Guitar,Guitar (Nylon String)
Rita Quintero   Background Vocals
Claytoven Richardson   Background Vocals
Dan Shea   Keyboards
Wendy Peterson   Background Vocals
Michael Hart Thompson   Guitar
West   Piano
William Ross   Conductor
Randall Barlow   Trumpet
Bill Lawrence   Background Vocals
Juan Vincente Zambrano   Keyboards
Angie Chirino   Background Vocals
Doug Michels   Trumpet
Peter Zizzo   Keyboards
7 Mile   Background Vocals
Richie Jones   Percussion,Drums
José Miguel Velásquez   Background Vocals
Kyra Lawrence   Background Vocals
Douglas Guevara   Bongos,Conga,Timbales
LaShawn Daniels   Background Vocals
Konesha Owens   Background Vocals
Alvin West   Piano
Shawnyette Harrell   Background Vocals
Jennifer Karr   Background Vocals
Lena Pérez   Background Vocals
Jack Stamates   Violin
Ximera DePombo   Background Vocals
Kim Travis   Background Vocals
Jorges Valero   Background Vocals
Kenny Anderson   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Tracy Reid   Background Vocals
Hernan Mulet   Trombone
Teddy Mullet   Trombone
Cory Rooney   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Michael Thompson   Guitar
Paquito Echavarria   Piano
Cohesha Owens   Background Vocals
Billie Lawrence   Background Vocals
Salvador Cuevas   Bass
Maria Christiansen   Background Vocals
Jane Barrett   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Prince Charles   Engineer
Betty Wright   Vocal Producer,Vocal Production Assistance
Manny Benito   Adaptation
Bob Cadway   Engineer
Sean "Puffy" Combs   Producer
Lawrence Dermer   Arranger,Producer
Emilio Estefan   Producer,Executive Producer
David Gleeson   Engineer
Larry Gold   String Arrangements,String Conductor
Mick Guzauski   Remixing
Lester Mendez   Programming
Dave Reitzas   Engineer
David Rideau   Engineer
Dan Shea   Arranger,Programming,Producer,Engineer,Vocal Producer,Rhythm Programming,Pro-Tools
Rick Wake   Arranger,Producer
Dan Hetzel   Engineer
Rodney Jerkins   Producer
Sebastián Krys   Engineer
Glen Marchese   Engineer
West   Composer
Freddy Piñero   Engineer
Christopher Austopchuk   Art Direction
William Ross   String Arrangements,String Conductor
Aleandro Baldi   Composer
Randall Barlow   Producer
George Noriega   Producer
Chucky Thompson   Programming
Juan Vincente Zambrano   Arranger,Programming,Producer
Julian Peploe   Art Direction
Kike Santander   Arranger,Producer
Javier Garza   Engineer
Poke & Tone   Programming,Producer
Dave Scheuer   Arranger,Programming,Producer,Engineer
David Shackney   Engineer
Thomas R. Yezzi   Engineer
Peter Zizzo   Arranger
Marco Falagiani   Composer
Richie Jones   Arranger,Programming,Producer,Remixing,Additional Production
Ignacio Ballesteros   Composer,Adaptation
Giancarlo Bigazzi   Composer
Lance "Un" Rivera   Producer
Bill Molina   Programming
Alvin West   Programming,Producer
Darrell Branch   Composer,Producer
Jennifer Lopez   Executive Producer
Robb Williams   Engineer
Robert Williams   Engineer
Bill Makina   Programming
Bobby Fernandez   Engineer
Ric Wake   Arranger,Producer
Lauren Dawson   Composer,Producer
Marcelo Anez   Engineer
Franklyn Grant   Engineer
Cory Rooney   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Executive Producer
Marcello Anez   Engineer
Maria Christiansen   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews