One in a Million: The Songs of Sam Dee

One in a Million: The Songs of Sam Dee


$13.29 $13.99 Save 5% Current price is $13.29, Original price is $13.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Sam Dees is a beloved name of soul aficionados but he isn't a household name the way other subjects of Ace's ongoing songwriters/producer series are. Dees had some success as an artist -- his 1975 album, The Show Must Go On, is a cult favorite and gained a boost upon its 2012 reissue, and he did some independent recordings in the late '80s and early '90s -- but he was primarily known as a songwriter who penned hits for Gladys Knight & the Pips ("Save the Overtime (For Me)") and Larry Graham ("One in a Million You"). Those two singles are on Ace's 2014 set One in a Million: The Songs of Sam Dees, but other hits and oft-covered songs, such as "Just the Lonely Talking Again," which Whitney Houston recorded in 1987, are absent as compiler Tony Rounce concentrates on songs recorded between 1971 and 1983, spending most of his time in the latter half of the '70s and dawn of the '80s. These are the glory days of disco and also mark the emergence of quiet storm, and if there are occasionally echoes of the former here, Dees was, at heart, a balladeer writing songs of seduction and heartbreak. Sometimes things get bright and celebratory -- despite its title, the Chi-Lites' "Vanishing Love" is exuberant, Sidney Joe Qualls' "Run to Me" is open-hearted and insistent, the Temptations' "Where Did We Go Wrong" almost gets down and dirty, and the Gladys Knight hit is splashy and stellar -- but the one thing every one of these 22 tracks has in common is that they're smooth and clean, the epitome of an era where soul traded grit for polish. Over and over again, One in a Million proves this is merely a shift in aesthetics and that the music was still deeply felt, from both the performer and composer level; if anything, this excellent compilation might function as a gateway drug for listeners who love deep southern soul -- the kind Dees made on The Show Must Go On -- but have previously been wary of disco, smooth soul, and quiet storm, because Dees' collected work is indeed that powerful.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/04/2014
Label: Imports
UPC: 0029667241120
catalogNumber: 1124126
Rank: 84802

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Millie Jackson   Producer
Frederick Knight   Composer,Producer
Gladys Knight   Composer,Producer
Temptations   Producer
Larry Graham   Producer
George Clinton   Producer
Tommy Couch   Producer
Sam Dees   Composer,Producer
Dan Eckley   Composer
Joey Gallo   Composer
Benny Golson   Arranger,Producer
Rick Hall   Producer
Ron Kersey   Composer
Mike Lewis   Arranger,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Patrick Moten   Producer
Jeffrey Osborne   Composer
Wardell Quezergue   Arranger
Sonny Sanders   Arranger,Producer
Brad Shapiro   Producer
Darnell Smith   Composer
Floyd Smith   Producer
Otis Smith   Producer
Wolf Stephenson   Producer
James Stroud   Producer
Mike Terry   Arranger
Marshall Thompson   Producer
Dale Warren   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Dino Zimmerman   Producer
Tony Rounce   Liner Notes
David Corio   Cover Photo
Tony Powell   Remixing
Mick Patrick   Photo Courtesy
Archie Russell   Producer
Jerry Strickland   Producer
Thomas Washington   Arranger
Rickey Smith   Producer
Bobby Martin   Producer
David Camon   Composer
Tommy Stewart   Arranger
Clinton Moon   Composer,Producer
Carl Davis   Producer
Benjamin F. Wright   Arranger,Producer
Merald Knight   Composer,Producer
Albert Gardner   Composer

Customer Reviews