One Meat Ball

One Meat Ball

by Christine LavinChristine Lavin

CD(Includes book)

$15.30 $15.99 Save 4% Current price is $15.3, Original price is $15.99. You Save 4%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Marrying the ideas of eating and music, One Meat Ball is a collection of 19 songs about, well, food. Being that this record was commissioned by Christine Lavin, the music on it generally stays within the folk-country realm, which fits well with the somewhat offbeat nature of many of the songs. Many of the tracks take a humorous tone, including Megon McDonough's (two other members of Lavin's 4 Bitchin' Babes, Sally Fingerett and Debi Smith, also have songs on the album) "Butter," Cathy Fink & Marcy Marxer's "Orange Cocoa Cake," Marcy Heisler & Zina Goldrich's "Taylor the Latte Boy," and Mary Liz McNamara's slightly irreverent "Bacon" ("fried heaven in a pan.../I'd kill the porker with my own bare hands just to get a strip"), but many of them also do what food helps us do best: reminisce. "Blueberry Pancakes" tells the story of big family breakfasts on Sunday mornings, "Blackberry Winter" is about lost love, and "Ten Pound Bass" recalls a particularly special summer. Equally important to One Meat Ball is the booklet with which it comes, which is a collection of recipes from the artists themselves, most of them relating directly to the track with which they are paired (actor Jeff Daniels' recipe for tomato pudding and his song "Tomato Puddin'," and Lavin's own "French Toast Bread Pudding" with its accompanying recipe, as well as "voice mail" messages left by various people -- her landlord, various friends, her snooty upstairs neighbor -- wanting to share it with her). Yeah, it's a little corny, but the musicians are all top-rate (there are the aforementioned artists, and Tom Paxton and Pete Seeger both have tracks included), and actually, the food that they're talking about sounds pretty good, too, which could just be One Meat Ball's greatest selling point.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/22/2006
Label: Appleseed Records
UPC: 0611587109620
catalogNumber: 1096
Rank: 95164

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Christine Lavin   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Mike Auldridge   Dobro
Doc Watson   Voiceover
Cathy Fink   Banjo,Vocals
Bob Gibson   Banjo,Vocals
Anne Hills   Vocals
Megon McDonough   Vocals,Voices
Tom Paxton   Guitar,Vocals
Pete Seeger   Guitar,Vocals
Jonathan Edwards   Vocals
Marcy Marxer   Guitar,Vocals
Dave Van Ronk   Guitar,Vocals
Sally Fingerett   Piano,Vocals
Emily Bindiger   Maracas,Tambourine,Vocals,Background Vocals
Margaret Dorn   Vocal Harmony
Brad Ellis   Piano
Laurence Etkin   Trumpet
Diane Garisto   Background Vocals
Jimmie Gately   Guitar,Piano
Vance Gilbert   Organ,Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Trumpet,Vocals,Voices
Julie Gold   Piano,Vocals
Billy Harrison   Bass
Billy Kemp   Bass,Guitar
Gary Lunn   Fretless Bass Guitar
Debi Smith   Vocals
Bill Mitchell   Vocal Harmony
Jim Vincent   Vocal Harmony
Radoslav Lorkovic   Piano
Tao Rodriguez-Seeger   Maracas,Vocals
Dennis Deal   Vocal Harmony
Todd Schroder   Piano
Annie Bauerlein   Guitar,Vocals
Dominic Suchyta   Bass
Ray Jessel   Piano,Vocals
Mary Liz McNamara   Piano,Vocals
Chip Mergott   Guitar,Piano
Marcia Pelletiere   Spoken Word,Vocal Harmony
Jon Albrink   Bass
Steve Curran   Percussion
Kathleen Daniels   Background Vocals
Lois Dino   Vocals
Edna   Voices
Zina Goldrich   Keyboards,Vocals
Stewart Gregory   Vocal Harmony
Marcy Heisler   Vocal Harmony
Robin Hopper   Guitar,Vocals
Julie Magsig   Background Vocals,Anvil,Knee Slaps
Alan Miceli   Guitar
MaryJo Mundy   Vocals
Peter Polzak   Piano
Maria Sonevytsky   Accordion
John Thomakos   Percussion
Rosie Vallese   Vocal Harmony
Jeff Daniels   Acoustic Guitar,Dobro,Harmonica,Vocals,Voices

Technical Credits

Christine Lavin   Producer
Megon McDonough   Composer
Tom Paxton   Composer
Pete Seeger   Composer
Loonis McGlohon   Composer
Alec Wilder   Composer
Peter Berryman   Composer
Emily Bindiger   Producer,Vocal Arrangements,Trumpet Arrangement
Margaret Dorn   Producer
Jimmie Gately   Engineer,drum programming
Vance Gilbert   Composer
Julie Gold   Composer
Jeremy Harris   Engineer
Debi Smith   Composer
Andy Waterman   Producer,Engineer
Hy Zaret   Composer
Mark Miller   Producer
Mark Hawley   Executive Producer
Lou Berryman   Composer
Louis Singer   Composer
Jim Musselman   Producer
Tom Eaton   Engineer,drum programming
Annie Bauerlein   Composer
Brian Bauers   Producer,Engineer
Dan Green   Engineer
Jim Lovell   Engineer
Ray Jessel   Composer
Mary Liz McNamara   Composer
Chip Mergott   Producer
Marcia Pelletiere   Composer
Peter & The King Pins Lewis   Engineer
Betsy Franco Feeney   Illustrations,Cover Art
Steve Curran   Producer
Zina Goldrich   Composer
Marcy Heisler   Composer
Robin Hopper   Composer
Mike Lozinski   Engineer
Julie Magsig   Vocal Arrangements
Alan Miceli   Composer
P. Polzak   Producer
Peter Polzak   Arranger
Dan Show   Producer
Sally Show   Producer
Jeff Daniels   Composer

Customer Reviews