Only Revolutions

Only Revolutions

by Biffy ClyroBiffy Clyro


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Understandably pleased with the success of their mainstream breakthrough album, Puzzle (2007), Biffy Clyro don't change much on the follow-up effort, Only Revolutions. Like Puzzle, it finds the Scottish alternative rockers at their most immediate and accessible. Once again they work with producer Garth Richardson and smooth out the rougher aspects of their early recordings, the Beggars Banquet albums Blackened Sky (2002), The Vertigo of Bliss (2003), and Infinity Land (2004). They restrain their prog tendencies, keeping the songs short and concise, and amplify their melodic side, recording with a full orchestra. They include a few mellow tunes on Only Revolutions, "God & Satan," "Many of Horror," and "Know Your Quarry," yet Biffy Clyro are still at their best when they let it rip. "That Golden Rule," "Bubbles," "Mountains," and "Booooom, Blast & Ruin" are highly charged rockers that race along quickly and shift gears often. These album highlights are edgy and rock hard, yet they're graced with memorable hooks and melodies at the same time. Now and then the band's pop
ock is off balance, for instance the album opener, "The Captain," which leans too far toward pop for comfort. Among the standout rockers, the previously released "Mountains" from 2008 and the lead single "That Golden Rule" are both great, and "Bubbles" is even better. Featuring Josh Homme from Queens of the Stone Age on second guitar, "Bubbles" has it all -- hammering riffs, adventurous jams, ear-pleasing chorus, sharp dynamics -- and it's the album's longest and most satisfying song, rocking for a full five minutes whereas most other songs on Only Revolutions are over and done with a minute or two sooner.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/08/2009
Label: Wea Int'l
UPC: 5051865614524
catalogNumber: 6561452
Rank: 45172

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Biffy Clyro   Primary Artist
Sid Page   Violin
Rick Baptist   Trumpet
David Campbell   Conductor
Joel Derouin   Violin
Julie Feves   Bass Clarinet
Josh Homme   Guitar
Alan Kaplan   Trombone
Joe Meyer   French Horn
Jamie Muhoberac   Keyboards
Vladimir Polimatidi   Violin
Kim Scholes   Cello
Doug Tornquist   Tuba
John Wittenberg   Violin
Ken Yerke   Violin
Wayne Bergeron   Trumpet
Natalie Leggett   Violin
Rudy Stein   Cello
Julian Hallmark   Violin
Roberto Cani   Violin
Ben Kaplan   Keyboards
Ben Johnston   Group Member
Simon Neil   Group Member
Erika Duke   Cello
Philip Vaiman   Violin
Gerardo Hilera   Violin
Steve Richards   Cello
Steven Holtman   Trombone
Tamara Hatwan   Violin
Sarah Parkins   Violin
Jonathan Sacdalan   Bass Clarinet
James Johnston   Group Member

Technical Credits

David Campbell   String Arrangements,Brass Arrangment,Woodwind Arrangement
GGGarth   Producer,Engineer
Bill Mims   Engineer
Jamie Muhoberac   Programming
David Schiffman   Engineer
Ben Kaplan   Programming,Engineer
Biffy Clyro   Composer,Producer
Simon Neil   Composer,Lyricist
Wesley Seidman   Engineer
John O'Mahony   Pro-Tools
Paul Suarez   Pro-Tools
Alex H.N. Gilbert   Artwork
Nick Rowe   Engineer

Customer Reviews