Pub. Date:
Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
Order in the Universe: The Films of John Carpenter / Edition 2

Order in the Universe: The Films of John Carpenter / Edition 2

by Robert C. CumbowRobert C. Cumbow
Current price is , Original price is $63.0. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.


An obscure independent filmmaker until Halloween (1978), John Carpenter has been applauded for his classic sense of compositions, yet reviled for his "B-film" sensibility. This second edition of the first book-length analysis finds in Carpenter's films a vision of a profound but unexpected order in the universe. The author analyzes Carpenter's early independent work, his made-for-television movies, his big Hollywood films (The Fog, Escape from New York, The Thing, Stephen King's Christine, Starman), his more recent independent work (Big Trouble in Little China, Prince of Darkness, They Live), and his contributions to films he did not direct. This edition fully updates the 1990 edition with attention to the films made since that date. With a chronology of Carpenter's career, a detailed filmography, photos, brief plot synopses, and a thorough index, this volume will be treasured by film scholars and fans alike.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780810837195
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
Publication date: 12/28/2000
Series: Scarecrow Filmmakers Series , #70
Edition description: 2nd Edition
Pages: 320
Product dimensions: 5.48(w) x 8.80(h) x 1.01(d)

About the Author

Robert C. Cumbow has published articles and reviews on film, drama, art, and music. He is the author of The Films of Sergio Leone (Scarecrow, 2007).

Customer Reviews