Original Album Series

Original Album Series

by Donny HathawayDonny Hathaway


2 New & Used Starting at $14.13


Donny Hathaway's Original Album Series, like the other volumes in the extensive catalog repackaging program, features five albums: Everything Is Everything (1970), Donny Hathaway (1971), Live (1972), Extension of a Man (1973), and the posthumous release In Performance (1980). Each disc is packaged individually in a thin cardboard pouch that reproduces the front and back sleeve design of the original release. For newcomers, this might seem like too much to absorb at once, but when it was released, it retailed for roughly the price of two or three full-price discs. There's a lot of classic material here, some of which has not appeared on any single-disc Donny Hathaway anthology.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/27/2013
Label: Rhino Flashback
UPC: 0081227983765
catalogNumber: 522039

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Donny Hathaway   Primary Artist,Organ,Bass,Piano,Conductor,Keyboards,Electric Piano,Vocals,Thumb Piano,fender rhodes,Tack Piano
Myrna Summers   Tambourine,Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Sammy Turner   Background Vocals
Phil Bodner   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
King Curtis   Guitar,Tenor Saxophone,Soloist
Joe Newman   Trumpet,Soloist
Marvin Stamm   Reeds,Trumpet,Soloist
Seldon Powell   Clarinet
Chuck Rainey   Bass
Grady Tate   Drums
Phil Upchurch   Bass,Guitar,Electric Bass,Soloist
J.R. Bailey   Background Vocals
Ralph MacDonald   Percussion
John Avant   Trombone
Johnny Board   Tenor Saxophone
Oscar Brashear   Trumpet
Garnett Brown   Trombone
Don Butterfield   Tuba
Cissy Houston   Background Vocals
Judy Clay   Background Vocals
Clifford Davis   Alto Saxophone
Cornell Dupree   Guitar,Electric Guitar,Soloist
Earl DeRouen   Conga
Aaron Dodd   Tuba
Gordon Edwards   Bass
Morris Ellis   Trombone
Marshall Hawkins   Bass,Soloist
Willie Henderson   Baritone Saxophone
John Howell   Trumpet
Morris Jennings   Drums
Robert A. Lewis   Trumpet
John Lounsberry   French Horn
Keith Loving   Acoustic Guitar
Ray Lucas   Drums
Rick Marotta   Drums
Hugh McCracken   Banjo,Guitar
David "Fathead" Newman   Tenor Saxophone
Steve Novosel   Bass
Gene Orloff   Concert Master
Louis Satterfield   Bass
Sylvia Shemwell   Background Vocals
Myrna Smith   Background Vocals
David Spinozza   Guitar
Tony Studd   Trombone
John Susswell   Drums
Richard Tee   Organ
Willie Weeks   Bass
Richard Wells   Background Vocals
Mario Medious   Background Vocals
Ronald Bright   Background Vocals
Leslie Carter   Conga
Al Jackson   Drums
Jimmy Douglas   Background Vocals
Gary Slavo   Trumpet
Deidre Tuck   Background Vocals
M. Stamm   Trumpet,Soloist
Fred White   Drums
Gil Silva   Guitar
Donald Myrick   Alto Saxophone
Cyril Touff   Bass Trumpet
Ric Powell   Percussion,Drums
Mike Howard   Guitar
Henry Gibson   Conga,Soloist
Lenard Druss   Tenor Saxophone
Stan Clarke   Bass
Bassie Saunders   Bass
Vashonettes   Background Vocals
William "Mac" McCollum   Background Vocals
Joseph Bishop   Guitar
Ethel Merkel   French Horn
Paul A. Teryett   French Horn
Interdenominational Singers   Tambourine,Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus

Technical Credits

Mac Davis   Composer
Nina Simone   Composer
Ray Charles   Composer
Marvin Gaye   Composer
Donny Hathaway   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements,Choir Arrangement
Carole King   Composer
Kooper   Composer
John Lennon   Composer
Billy Preston   Composer
Leon Russell   Composer
King Curtis   Producer
Erroll Garner   Composer
Marvin Stamm   String Arrangements
Phil Upchurch   Composer
Richard Evans   Composer
J.R. Bailey   Composer
Weldon Irvine   Composer
Nikki Giovanni   Liner Notes
Leroy Hutson   Composer
Bobby Russell   Composer
Dorsey Burnette   Composer
Howard Albert   Engineer
Ron Albert   Engineer
Murray Allen   Engineer
Renaldo Benson   Composer
Johnny Burke   Composer
Cleveland   Composer
George Clinton   Composer
Earl DeRouen   Composer
Gary McFarland   Composer
Frank Hubach   Engineer
Arif Mardin   Arranger,Producer,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements,Remixing,Choir Arrangement
Danny O'Keefe   Composer
Gene Paul   Engineer
Phil Ramone   Engineer
Bobby Scott   Composer
Ray Thompson   Engineer
Bobby Warner   Remixing
Jerry Wexler   Producer,Liner Notes
Tom Fly   Engineer
Leon Ware   Composer
Bob Defrin   Art Direction
Clyde Wilson   Composer
John Collier   Cover Illustration
Jimmy Douglas   Engineer,Remixing
Jim Cummins   Cover Photo
Haig Adishian   Cover Design
Loring Eutemey   Cover Design
Michel Woodlon   Cover Photo
Walter Lowe   Composer
Gene McClellan   Composer
Nadine McKinnor   Composer
Louis Savary   Composer
James Douglas   Engineer
Roger S. Anfinsen   Engineer
Ric Powell   Composer,Producer,Liner Notes
Edward Howard   Composer
Franklin Moss   Composer
Glenn Watts   Composer
Merrill A. Roberts   Back Cover Photo
Herbert Rose   Composer
Jeffrey Blue   Art Direction
Jim Taylor   Cover Photo
Tara Fly   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews