Original Musiquarium I

Original Musiquarium I

by Stevie WonderStevie Wonder


View All Available Formats & Editions


First released in 1982, Original Musiquarium I compiles some of the most enduring and beloved songs of pop icon Stevie Wonder's adult career. From the deep funk of "Superstition" and "Higher Ground" to the pop romance of "You Are the Sunshine of My Life" and "Isn't She Lovely," Musiquarium illustrates that at his peak, Wonder was an artistic chameleon of unparalleled musicianship. This compilation also shows Wonder's evolution into a socially conscious artist with songs such as "Living for the City," with its mini-dramatization of police racial profiling, and the politician send-up "You Haven't Done Nothing." This re-mastered version of Musiquarium, like Motown's other excellent Wonder reissues, includes the original artwork and liner notes. Though it can't touch the outstanding box set At the Close of the Century for thorough coverage of this genius's multi-decade career, this double album is the best beginner's kit for the casual Wonder fan. And bonus tracks such as "Do I Do" and "Front Line" also make it a novel addition to any good record collection.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/17/2000
Label: Motown
UPC: 0601215936421
catalogNumber: 159364

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Stevie Wonder   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Harmonica,Percussion,Piano,Drums,Keyboards,Vocals,fender rhodes
Jackson 5   Vocals
Dizzy Gillespie   Trumpet
Rick Zunigar   Guitar
Michael Sembello   Guitar
Britt Woodman   Horn
J.D. Parran   Horn
Clifton Anderson   Horn
Gloria Barley   Background Vocals
Delores Barnes   Vocals
Windy Barnes   Background Vocals
Brenda Barnett   Hand Clapping
Daniel Ben Zebulon   Conga
Shirley Brewer   Vocals,Background Vocals,Hand Clapping
Ben Bridges   Acoustic Guitar,Sitar
Alex Brown   Background Vocals
Alexandra Brown   Vocals
Colleen Carleton   Hand Clapping
Dennis Davis   Drums
Earl DeRouen   Percussion,Vocals
Kwasi "Rocky" Dzidzornu   Conga
Scott Edwards   Bass
Robert Eldridge   Horn
Howard "Buzz" Feiten   Guitar
Eugene Ghee   Horn
Jim Gilstrap   Background Vocals
Larry Gittens   Trumpet,Horn
Lani Groves   Background Vocals
Renee Hardaway   Vocals
Nelson Hayes   Hand Clapping
David Henson   Hand Clapping
Marva Holcolm   Background Vocals
Josie James   Vocals
Virgil Jones   Horn
Trevor Lawrence   Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Steve Madaio   Trumpet
Raymond Maldonado   Trumpet
Artice May   Hand Clapping
Reggie McBride   Bass
Melody McCully   Vocals,Background Vocals
Earl McIntyre   Horn
Edna Orso   Hand Clapping
Victor Paz   Horn
Greg Phillinganes   Keyboards
Raymond Lee Pounds   Drums
Robert Ratledge   Horn
Hank Redd   Alto Saxophone
Paul Riser   Strings
Janice Robinson   Horn
Isaiah Sanders   Organ,Keyboards,fender rhodes
Anthony Tooley   Horn
Josette Valentino   Hand Clapping
Frank Wess   Horn
Alfred Wilson   Horn
Angela Winbush   Background Vocals
Lorenzo Wyche   Horn
Nathan Watts   Bass,Vocals
Robert Rutledge   Horn
Carole Cole   Hand Clapping
Tucker   Hand Clapping
Dennis DeRouen   Percussion
Alexander Brown Evans   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Malcolm Cecil   Engineer
John Fischbach   Engineer
Margaret Goldfarb   Reissue Production Coordination
Robert Margouleff   Engineer
Dennis Morrison   Equipment Technician
Gary Olazabal   Engineer
Paul Riser   String Arrangements
Harry Weinger   Reissue Research
Stevie Wonder   Arranger,Producer,Horn Arrangements
Vartan   Art Direction
Norman Moore   Concept
Mathieu Bitton   Reissue Design
Mick Parish   Equipment Technician
Dwight Radcliff   Equipment Technician
Johnny Lee   Art Direction

Customer Reviews