Other People's Lives

Other People's Lives

by StatsStats


$12.23 $13.99 Save 13% Current price is $12.23, Original price is $13.99. You Save 13%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Other People's Lives is the full-length debut of Stats, a London-based band formed by Ed Seed, who toured the world as a member of Dua Lipa's backing back (guitar/keys) before booking time in the studio to record improvised jams as part of his own six-piece. Far from unfocused or meandering, the final edits present a vibrant, articulate song set whose spin on detached alternative dance music evokes names like Fujiya & Miyagi, Tom Bailey, certain elements of Pet Shop Boys, and even artier acts like Thomas Dolby and Everything Everything. What Stats also has in common with those projects is a sense of humor and wit that doubles the fun alongside funky dance grooves. The album's opening moments establish both those traits on "I Am an Animal," which includes lyrics like "I will forget how to do my photo smile/It's as clean and flawless as a bathroom tile," delivered in deadpan speak-singing. It also introduces the band's dense electronic rock textures, which include multiple synths, electric guitars, and the rock-steady rhythm section of drummer John Barrett (Eugene McGuinness) and bassist Stu Barter (Left with Pictures), who's credited with Fender bass throughout. The glistening, syncopated funk continues on tracks like "Rhythm of the Heart" and the sparser "Change of Scenery," which offers austere beats under floating vocal harmonies. Its arrangements are accented by a variety of quirky, melodic guitar and synth tones, including a woodblock-type synthetic timbre. Over halfway through the track list, "Raft" takes on a brighter, new wavy demeanor, and "A Man Who Makes the Weather" is a dramatic, cabaret-style keyboard ballad. The album never seems to stray from its design, however, and is loaded with catchy, memorable songs, an even more impressive feat considering its origins.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/15/2019
Label: Memphis Industries
UPC: 5060146098953
catalogNumber: 522
Rank: 111824

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Stats   Primary Artist
Duncan Brown   Guitar,Soloist,Telecaster
Eugene McGuinness   Guitar,Vocals
Dominic McGuinness   Piano,Vocals,Guita Flé
Ed Seed   Synthesizer,Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Drums,Vocals,Synthesizer Piano
Ant Whiting   Guitar
John Barrett   Percussion,Drums
Nicole Robson   Piano,Vocals,Synthesizer Piano,Juno,Analogue Synthesizer,Yamaha Keyboards
Isobel Waller-Bridge   Piano,Keyboards,Vocals,Synthesizer Piano,Casio,Juno
Stu Barter   Vocals,Synthesizer Piano,Fender Jazz Bass

Technical Credits

Ed Seed   Composer,Programming,Producer,Sleeve Design
Robbie Nelson   Engineer
Isobel Waller-Bridge   MIDI Controller
Stats   Instrumentation

Customer Reviews