Out of Left Field

Out of Left Field

by Kris Hui Lee

Paperback

$9.89 $10.99 Save 10% Current price is $9.89, Original price is $10.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Overview

There's no playing it safe in love or baseball in this sparkling debut, perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Kasie West.

Marnie has never had a hard time fitting in with the guys. It would take a lot more than their goofy antics to keep her from joining them at the neighborhood sandlot to do what she loves best: play ball.

An added perk of hanging out at the sandlot? Spending time with Cody Kinski, their high school's star pitcher and Marnie's best friend. Sure, he can be stubborn and annoying. He also knows how to make her laugh and respects her skills on the field. And when he gets nailed in the arm by a bone-fracturing pitch, Marnie becomes the team's best chance at making it to the playoffs. Except no one told the guys they're supposed to be on her side.

With her own team against her, Marnie begins questioning her abilities. And when fate throws her a curveball, can she play without losing the game, Cody, and her belief in herself?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781492663850
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Publication date: 05/01/2018
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 287,122
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Kris Hui Lee is a contemporary YA author who also doubles as a graphic designer. In 2015, she was a finalist in the Pitch Wars writing contest hosted by Brenda Drake. When not writing or designing, she can be found cuddling with a dog on the floor.Learn more at krishuilee.tumblr.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Out of Left Field 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
beckymmoe More than 1 year ago
A fun read! The emphasis here--as it really should be in YA--is more on Marnie figuring herself and her place in her world (with her family and friends, on the baseball team, what direction she wants her future to go in) and less on romance--though Marnie and Cody dance around things for the entire book, they don't really get around their we-might-ruin-our-friendship-forever fears until (literally) the last minute. And really, this is fine. Like Marnie's mom, I have no great love for baseball, which is Marnie's first and lasting great love, but that's okay. It's easy to identify with a heroine who has found something she's passionate about in life but who still is full of doubts. I've never even considered being the only girl on a boy's team, but who can't remember a time in their lives when they felt like the outsider? Even though I do enjoy wearing dresses (but not shopping for them, because that's just cruel and unusual punishment) I came out of this book somehow feeling like Marnie and I had way more in common than not. Ms. Lee has apparently spent years writing stories about Marnie and her friends (as per her acknowledgments) and it really shows--it's obvious that Marnie and company have a long, complicated history that the author knows both it and her characters well. Little throwaway comments like, "For reasons that would take too long to explain, his voicemail message is Joey and Sara mooing for about thirty seconds" add both humor and realism to the story. Out of Left Field is a fun debut from an author I'll definitely be looking for more from! Rating: 4 stars / A- I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.
book_junkee More than 1 year ago
I loved the idea of a girl playing on the boys team and the hint of a bff to more sold it. I liked Marnie well enough. She’s tenacious and talented and stands up for herself. The rest of her friends and their dynamic was quite odd. I struggled with how they could be supportive of Marnie’s pitching when they played on the weekends, but after winning the spot on the school team, the same people she’s known since kindergarten now ignore her. Plot wise it did get repetitive. There was a lot of telling and not showing, especially during scenes of the games. It felt like some threads of the story were thrown in for fun, as they didn’t really provide substance to the story. Overall, it was a quick read and had a lot of potential. Sadly, the execution just didn’t work for me. **Huge thanks to Sourcebooks Fire for providing the arc free of charge**