Outside Inside

Outside Inside

by The TubesThe Tubes

CD(British Import)

$15.48 $15.99 Save 3% Current price is $15.48, Original price is $15.99. You Save 3%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 16


Another bit of clever packaging outside (the record label featured an iris that appeared through a cutout on the sleeve) and inside, where producer David Foster and even more members of Toto help the Tubes punch up their new radio-ready sound with added energy. If their last record showed a newfound dancefloor sensibility, Outside Inside is absolutely funky. There are plenty of over-the-top arena pop numbers on here, including the hit "She's a Beauty," "No Not Again," and "Tip of My Tongue." Yet with so many cooks in the kitchen, the record is peppered with some strange entries, like "Wild Women of Wongo," "Drums," and "Outside Looking Inside." Maybe the Tubes were trying to exorcise their own artistic demons, the better to play a song like "Fantastic Delusion" or "The Monkey Time" with a clear conscience. Outside Inside is definitely a party record, which is fine, except that the Tubes were never a party band (after all, their most radio-friendly album to date, The Completion Backward Principle, was still pretty dark). The change in direction will probably alienate old fans, just as it clearly attracted new ones (the record reached the U.S. Top 20). If you enjoyed their hits from the '80s (e.g., "Talk to You Later," "She's a Beauty"), this is the album to own.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/30/1998
Label: Bgo - Beat Goes On
UPC: 5017261201331
catalogNumber: 133
Rank: 22808

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tubes   Primary Artist
Patti Austin   Vocals,Background Vocals
James Newton Howard   Keyboards
David Foster   Keyboards
Bill Champlin   Vocals,Background Vocals
Fee Waybill   Vocals
Martha Davis   Vocals
Bill Spooner   Guitar,Vocals
Michael Cotten   Synthesizer
Nathan East   Bass
Gary Grant   Horn
Gary Herbig   Horn
Jerry Hey   Horn
Bobby Kimball   Vocals,Background Vocals
Mingo Lewis   Percussion
Steve Lukather   Guitar
David Paich   Keyboards
Steve Porcaro   Keyboards
Prairie Prince   Drums
Roger Steen   Guitar,Vocals
Fred Washington   Guitar
Vince Welnick   Keyboards
Chuck Finley   Horn
David Williams   Bass
William Frank "Bill" Reichenbach   Horn
Freddy Washington   Guitar
Larry Williams   Horn

Technical Credits

Curtis Mayfield   Composer
David Foster   Composer,Producer
Fee Waybill   Composer
David Cole   Engineer
Humberto Gatica   Engineer
Jay Graydon   Contributor
Jerry Hey   Arranger
Ken Kessie   Engineer
Dennis Kirk   Engineer
Jack Leahy   Engineer
Steve Lukather   Composer
Prairie Prince   Producer,Art Direction
Jim Welch   Contribution
Stacy Baird   Producer,Engineer
Bill Burks   Contribution
Roy Kohara   Art Direction
Paul Knotter   Collaboration
Rick Anderson   Contributor
Greg Ladany   Engineer

Customer Reviews