Pain Gets a Little Deeper: The Complete Early Years 1965-1971

Pain Gets a Little Deeper: The Complete Early Years 1965-1971

by Darrow FletcherDarrow Fletcher


$13.29 $13.99 Save 5% Current price is $13.29, Original price is $13.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The second of two Darrow Fletcher compilations released by Ace, 2013's The Pain Gets a Little Deeper covers the earliest recordings from the beloved Chicago cult soul singer, rounding up the sides he recorded for local indie Windy City imprints Groovy, Jacklyn, Congress, Uni, Revue, and Genna between 1965 and 1971. That long list of labels reveals how Fletcher never had a career-making hit but also was highly regarded, with label after label giving him a shot over those six years. Possessing a high, keening voice that spliced elements of Stevie Wonder, Jackie Wilson, and Curtis Mayfield, Fletcher was a compelling singer and he received several nice showcases for his talents, including the incessantly grooving "The Pain Gets a Little Deeper," a single cherished by Northern Soul aficionados. Fletcher cut several other infectious singles in a similar vein, often returning uptown swing of the Impressions but just as frequently mining the sound of Motown, particularly the richer, exuberant orchestrations that characterized the Motor City in the late '60s. This meant Fletcher was well-positioned to dabble in funk and smooth soul, which he does elsewhere on these 23 songs, each of them showing Fletcher's range and versatility. He never received the attention he deserved -- it's a matter of bad breaks -- but this collection is a testament to how his talent endures, plus it's just a lot of fun to hear.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/03/2013
Label: Ace Records Import
UPC: 0029667240321
catalogNumber: 6724032
Rank: 71953


  1. The Pain Gets a Little Deeper
  2. What Good Am I Without You
  3. Changing By the Minute
  4. I Think I'm Gonna Write a Song
  5. My Judgement Day
  6. Sitting There That Night
  7. When Love Calls
  8. Infatuation
  9. My Young Misery
  10. Gotta Draw the Line
  11. I Like the Way I Feel
  12. Gonna Keep Loving You
  13. What is This
  14. Now is the Time For Love, Pt. 1
  15. Now is the Time For Love, Pt. 2
  16. Those Hanging Heartaches
  17. Little Girl
  18. Dolly Baby
  19. The Way of a Man
  20. What Have I Got Now
  21. That Certain Little Something
  22. We Can't Go On This Way
  23. Infatuation

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Darrow Fletcher   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Richard Barrett   Composer
Ted Daniel   Composer,Producer
Burgess Gardner   Arranger
Len Ron Hanks   Composer
Bernard Reed   Composer
Mike Terry   Arranger
Robert Pruter   Liner Notes,Photo Courtesy
Ady Croasdell   Liner Notes
Zane Grey   Composer
Tom Tom   Arranger
Phil Wright   Arranger
Maurice Simpkins   Composer,Producer
Karl Tarleton   Composer
Darrow Fletcher   Composer,Producer,Photo Courtesy
Johnny Moore   Composer,Producer
Jack Daniels   Composer
Bob Abrahamian   Photo Courtesy
Kal Rudman   Composer
Don Mancha   Composer,Producer
Harry McNeil   Composer
Mary McNeil   Composer
Johnnie Haygood   Composer

Customer Reviews