by Ocean Colour SceneOcean Colour Scene


$16.41 $16.99 Save 3% Current price is $16.41, Original price is $16.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Perhaps there's a bit of a sly nod to art rock in the title and album cover of Painting, the tenth Ocean Colour Scene album, but the contents that lie within are without a hint of pretension, favoring the florid trad rock that's been their stock in trade since Moseley Shoals. OCS add some new color by tipping a hat to their baggy beginnings on "If God Made Everyone" -- a dense, percolating cut featuring their heaviest dance rhythms in recent memory -- lathering on backwards strings and guitars on "Professor Perplexity," and opening the album with the chattering of school children on "We Don't Look in the Mirror." Also, echoes from Simon Fowler's pastoral solo project can be heard, particularly on the baroque psychedelia of "I Don't Want to Leave England," and these sounds accentuate how OCS have added textures to their Weller-worshiping rock & roll over the years. They continue to mine interesting sounds out of this vein -- no other band has mimicked Traffic so expertly -- but the sounds and structures, not the songs, are what's memorable about Painting. Ocean Colour Scene are agile within the confines of their wheelhouse so it's enjoyable to hear them play and construct records, even if they rarely give you a reason for a return visit.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/19/2013
Label: Imports
UPC: 0711297497625
catalogNumber: 1104753
Rank: 71037

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ocean Colour Scene   Primary Artist
Steve Cradock   Bass,Guitar,Mandolin,Piano,Mellotron
Family   Background Vocals
Simon Fowler   Vocals
Sam Smith   Trombone
Oscar Harrison   Bass,Percussion,Piano,Drums,Background Vocals
Jordon Richards   Background Vocals
Jade Luke   Background Vocals
Rich Mills   Trumpet
Ray Beavies   Tenor Saxophone
Maxine Brooks   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Steve Cradock   Composer,Producer
Simon Fowler   Composer
Matt Terry   Programming,Producer
Liam Farrell   Engineer
Andy Hall   Band Photo
Fred Ansell   Engineer
Andy Croft   Composer
Melissa Mailer-Yates   Paintings

Customer Reviews