Parklive [4CD/1DVD] [Deluxe Edition]

Parklive [4CD/1DVD] [Deluxe Edition]

by BlurBlur
3 New & Used Starting at $44.99


Blur headlined a Brit-pop blowout at Hyde Park on the final day of the London 2012 Olympic games, a concert that not so coincidentally also capped off a flurry of Blur-related activity. The band celebrated its 21st anniversary in grand fashion, reissuing its catalog as deluxe double-disc sets, boxing these deluxe editions in a mammoth rarities-laden box set called Blur 21, releasing a good reunion single in "Under the Westway"/"The Puritan," and, finally, performing this concert, releasing it digitally the following week as the double-album Parklive (which is due to be expanded into a five-CD box later in the year). Given the amount of time the reunited Blur spent trawling through their back pages, it's not much of a surprise that the set list of Parklive is constructed as a chronicle of their past, one that touches lightly on their beginnings and end -- there's one song apiece from Leisure and Think Tank -- one that accentuates two through-lines in their history: the churning, darkly psychedelic art rock band and the proudly patriotic, albeit wildly sardonic, British pop group. Considering the occasion, Blur serve up plenty of the former, playing roughly half of Parklife -- Phil Daniels himself comes out to bark out the title track -- and have fun digging deep, playing "London Loves," which has rarely ever been played on-stage. This isn't the only rarity here -- they haul out the Modern Life Is Rubbish B-side "Young and Lovely," which Damon Albarn introduces with a preamble dedicating it to the band's children, an acknowledgment of Blur's advancing years, a subject he also alludes to by changing a lyric on "End of a Century" to "as you get closer to 50." Blur are indeed now 20 years on from their '90s peak and it's evident in the music: where they were once frenetic they are now muscular and Albarn's ambition has mellowed into a quiet confidence. The passing of time has only increased Blur's stature as a British treasure and this is a concert that suits their status: it's crowd-pleasing without pandering, the knotty "Caramel" and "Trimm Trabb" fitting neatly next to "Sunday Sunday," the new "Under the Westway" gaining resonance when placed near "Sing" and "For Tomorrow." The latter is just enough to suggest that Blur could continue to build upon their legacy, but if this turns out to be a farewell, it is one that is triumphant. [A four-CD/one-DVD Deluxe Edition was released in 2012.]

Product Details

Release Date: 12/18/2012
Label: Virgin Records Us
UPC: 5099972378922
catalogNumber: 23789


Disc 1

  1. Girls & Boys
  2. London Loves
  3. Tracy Jacks
  4. Jubilee
  5. Beetlebum
  6. Coffee & TV
  7. Out of Time
  8. Young and Lovely
  9. Trimm Trabb
  10. Caramel
  11. Sunday Sunday
  12. Country House
  13. Parklife

Disc 2

  1. Colin Zeal
  2. Popscene
  3. Advert
  4. Song 2
  5. No Distance Left to Run
  6. Tender
  7. This is a Low
  8. Sing
  9. Under the Westway/Intermission
  10. End of a Century
  11. For Tomorrow
  12. The Universal

Disc 3

  1. Under the Westway
  2. The Puritan
  3. Mr Briggs
  4. London Loves
  5. Young and Lovely
  6. Colin Zeal
  7. The Puritan
  8. No Distance Left to Run
  9. This is a Low

Disc 4

  1. Girls & Boys
  2. Jubilee
  3. Beetlebum
  4. Young and Lovely
  5. Colin Zeal
  6. Oily Water
  7. Advert
  8. Bugman
  9. The Puritan
  10. Trimm Trabb
  11. For Tomorrow
  12. Under the Westway/Intermission

Disc 5

  1. Girls & Boys
  2. London Loves
  3. Tracy Jacks
  4. Jubilee
  5. Beetlebum
  6. Coffee & TV
  7. Out of Time
  8. Young and Lovely
  9. Trimm Trabb
  10. Caramel
  11. Sunday Sunday
  12. Country House
  13. Parklife
  14. Colin Zeal
  15. Popscene
  16. Advert
  17. Song 2
  18. No Distance Left To Run
  19. Tender
  20. This is a Low
  21. Sing
  22. Under the Westway
  23. Intermission
  24. End of a Century
  25. For Tomorrow
  26. The Universal
  27. Under the Westway
  28. The Puritan
  29. Under the Westway
  30. The Puritan
  31. Under the Westway

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Blur   Primary Artist
Phil Daniels   Guest Appearance
Wayne Hernandez   Background Vocals
Janet Ramus   Background Vocals
Dan Carpenter   Brass
Wendi Rose   Background Vocals
Tyrone Henry   Background Vocals
Barnaby Dickinson   Brass
Khyam Allami   Oud
Alistair White   Brass
Mike Smith   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Alex James   Foreword
William Nichols   Executive Producer
Will Taylor   Engineer
Will Shapland   Engineer
Matt Wood   Engineer
Dan Fisher   Engineer
Chris O'Donnell   Executive Producer
Scott Minshall   Contributor
Dave Guerin   Stage Sound
Helen Atkinson   Engineer
Noggin   Contributor
Matthew Amos   Director
Giorgio Testi   Director
Dave Loudoun   Engineer
Stefan Demetriou   Executive Producer
Hugh Walker   Engineer
Chris Phelps   Contributor
Mike Kaufman   Executive Producer
Regine Moylett   Management
Alan Gillett   Contributor
Matt Butcher   Engineer
Dan Hardingham   Contributor
Necker   Engineer
Craig Duffy   Tour Manager
Tanyel Vahdettin   Management
Jason Wardman   Guitar Techician
Alex McCartan   Bass Technician
Suzi Grossman   Management
Stuart Lowbridge   Drum Technician
Niamh Byrne   Management
Mel Ramos   Artwork
Adam Draper   Stage Technician
Dina Mystris   Contributor
Simone Ghilardotti   Contributor
Nick Duggins   Contributor
David Lopez-Edwards   Contributor
Charlotte Barrymore   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews