The Perfect Age: A Novel

The Perfect Age: A Novel

by Heather Skyler

NOOK Book(eBook)

$14.99 $19.95 Save 25% Current price is $14.99, Original price is $19.95. You Save 25%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

A sun-baked, beautifully observed debut for readers who loved Amy and Isabelle—a mother and daughter come of age in Las Vegas.

Helen is just fifteen, lanky and striking. She is a lifeguard at the pool at The Dunes hotel this summer—her first job, a step toward independence in a world beginning to treat her as an adult and a woman. Her mother, Kathy, watching Helen grow up, suddenly finds herself in a place equally uncertain: her children getting older, her stable marriage perhaps too stable, the slow days of summer leaving her adrift. When she meets Helen's boss, the manager at the pool, she chooses an affair that opens her to the idea of a different sort of life. Following Helen and Kathy through three summers, this novel is an intimate picture of two sexual awakenings under one roof and their aftershocks on a family. Heather Skyler shows us that the validity of life's deepest experiences—love, betrayal, acceptance—is never compromised by age. Reading group guide included.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780393248647
Publisher: Norton, W. W. & Company, Inc.
Publication date: 12/15/2014
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 572,140
File size: 758 KB

About the Author

Heather Skyler was born and raised in Las Vegas. The author of The Perfect Age and Vegas Girls, she currently lives in Athens, Georgia, with her husband, son, and daughter.

Customer Reviews