Perpetual Light

Perpetual Light

by William Rose Benet


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


1919 collection of poems by William Rose Benét (1886-1950) who was an American poet, writer and editor. He was the older brother of Stephen Vincent Benét. He was born in Brooklyn, New York, and educated at The Albany Academy in Albany, NY and at Yale University. He began the Saturday Review of Literature in 1924 and continued to edit and write for it until his death. In 1942 he was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry for his book of autobiographical verse, The Dust Which Is God (1941). He was also the author of The Reader's Encyclopedia (1949), thought of as the standard American guide to world literature. Among his other works are: Perpetual Light: A Memorial (1919), Moons of Grandeur (1920), and First Person Singular (1922).

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781117706061
Publisher: BCR (Bibliographical Center for Research)
Publication date: 12/07/2009
Pages: 138
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.30(d)

Customer Reviews