Picture of Defeat

Picture of Defeat

by Max Hennessy

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

He must save the past, for the peoples’ future...

It is 1943, and Naples has been looted by the Allies and Axis powers alike, its priceless art treasures coveted by some of the most corrupt criminal minds in Europe.

The country swarmed with bands of partisans, who included communists, genuine patriots, escaped POWs and ex-soldiers of the Italian army. Alongside them, but operating solely for gain, were gangs of bandits.

Sergeant Tom Pugh was in Field Security, because he had spent three years in Italy before the war. He was now entrusted with a delicate and difficult task – to save the paintings of Italian master, Detto Banti. Not quite what Pugh thought the war was about – but dangerous enough for anyone…

An authentic and gripping WWII espionage thriller, perfect for fans of Alistair MacLean, Jack Higgins and John le Carré.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781800320871
Publisher: Canelo Digital Publishing Ltd
Publication date: 08/17/2020
Series: The WWII Italian Collection , #3
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 311,120
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Max Hennessy was the pen-name of John Harris. He had a wide variety of jobs from sailor to cartoonist and became a highly inventive, versatile writer. In addition to crime fiction, Hennessy was a master of the war novel and drew heavily on his experiences in both the navy and air force, serving in the Second World War. His novels reflect the reality of war mixed with a heavy dose of conflict and adventure.

Customer Reviews