by The Band PerryThe Band Perry


$16.66 $17.99 Save 7% Current price is $16.66, Original price is $17.99. You Save 7%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Starting with the threats of "Better Dig Two," there's a swagger that underpins much of Pioneer, the second album from family country-pop trio the Band Perry. This boldness never quite dissipates under the thunderous cloud of big ballads, of which there are many here. Almost all the attitude derives from Kimberly Perry, who retains a sense of palpable defiance even in the quietest moments, her vigor lending passion to music that is deliberately designed to appeal to the widest possible audience as it blurs the line between contemporary country and pop. At times, this desire to be everything to everyone leads to some seriously odd juxtapositions, as on the shred-guitar fireworks of the coda of "Forever Mine Nevermind" -- a grace note Spinal Tap would have been proud to achieve -- and the gurgling talkbox and mandolin war on "I'm a Keeper." These accidental oddities along with Kimberly Perry's fiercely committed vocals give Pioneer a character it otherwise works overtime to avoid and, for as good as the by-the-books ballads and rocking country are, the moments when the façade slips a bit make this worth hearing as an album and not a collection of singles.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/02/2013
Label: Republic
UPC: 0602537327621
catalogNumber: 001817602
Rank: 57668

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Band Perry   Primary Artist
Eric Darken   Percussion
Dan Dugmore   Dobro,Steel Guitar
Stuart Duncan   Fiddle
Paul Franklin   Steel Guitar,Sitar
Jim Hoke   Penny Whistle
Dann Huff   Guitar (12 String Electric)
Jerry McPherson   Electric Guitar
David Huff   Percussion
Aaron Sterling   Drums
Reid Perry   Bass
Charlie Judge   Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards,Hammond B3
Neil Perry   Bouzouki,Mandolin
Cherie Oakley   Background Vocals
Ilya Toshinskly   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Guitar (Resonator)
Ben Krebs   Fonts

Technical Credits

Dann Huff   Producer
Steve Marcantonio   Engineer
Brad Paisley   Composer
Shane McAnally   Composer
Scott Borchetta   Executive Producer
David Huff   Programming
Sarah Buxton   Composer
Rodney Clawson   Composer
Matt Ramsey   Composer
Reid Perry   Composer
Joe Osborne   Composer
Brandy Clark   Composer
Seth Morton   Engineer
Charlie Judge   Loop Programming
Neil Perry   Composer
Kimberly Perry   Composer
Brian Henningsen   Composer
Trevor Rosen   Composer
Clara Henningsen   Composer
Aaron Henningsen   Composer
Jacob Bryant   Composer
Steve Rusch   Engineer
Chris Tompkins   Composer
John Davidson   Composer

Customer Reviews