Platinum Collection: Sounds of Summer Edition

Platinum Collection: Sounds of Summer Edition

by The Beach BoysThe Beach Boys

CD(Dutch Import)

$23.74 $24.99 Save 5% Current price is $23.74, Original price is $24.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, February 27
3 New & Used Starting at $17.02


This reviewer is a bit torn over how to approach this triple-CD EMI import of Beach Boys material, mostly because it's almost too good at what it does. It does encompass, in its nearly three-hour running time, almost anything that all but the most totally immersed and dedicated fan could want -- the only notable exceptions are a handful of tracks from the '70s Brother Records library, such as "Add Some Music to Your Day" and "This Whole World," but even that end is covered decently, with the inclusion of such tracks as "Sail on Sailor," "Marcella," "Disney Girls (1957)," "Surf's Up," "Forever," "Till I Die," and "California Saga: California." And in encompassing the Capitol years, the producers have included everything from "Surfin'" to "Breakaway," and in the right versions, and always in excellent sound. There are also some very late-inning cuts, such as "Wipe Out" with the Fat Boys and "Fun Fun Fun" with Status Quo that may seem less-than-essential, but they do represent some of the group's more recent high-profile work and can be understood on that level. There's also precious little in the way of annotation beyond an essay by Anthony DeCurtis, and it can also get a little confusing for the neophyte listener, owing to the loose structure of the programming -- each of the three discs covers a distinct period in the group's sound, but none of them is remotely in chronological order. The listening experience on each disc ends up being a sort of hybrid between a formal retrospective and a good FM radio set devoted to the band. The real reason behind this reviewer's reticence to recommend this collection in unqualified terms is a matter of broader thinking about the Beach Boys -- one doesn't really want to encourage people to forgo the considerable joys of their individual albums; anyone who knows their work will be keenly aware, hearing this collection, how much totally worthwhile material is being skipped over, even on a collection as vast and comprehensive as this.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/17/2008
Label: Emi Australia
UPC: 0724357134521
catalogNumber: 571345
Rank: 14226

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Beach Boys   Primary Artist
Brian Wilson   Group Member
Bruce Johnston   Group Member
Jardine   Group Member
Dennis Wilson Quintet   Group Member

Technical Credits

Ray Kennedy   Composer
Beach Boys   Producer
Chuck Berry   Composer
Van Dyke Parks   Composer
Brian Wilson   Composer,Producer,Adaptation
Ellie Greenwich   Composer
Bruce Johnston   Composer,Producer
Jerry Leiber   Composer
Scott McKenzie   Composer
Terry Melcher   Composer,Producer
Carl Wilson   Composer
Murry Wilson   Producer
Phil Spector   Composer
Ron Altbach   Composer
Jeff Barry   Composer
Curt Becher   Producer
Albert Cabrera   Producer
Bobby Freeman   Composer
James William Guercio   Producer
Jardine   Composer,Producer
Huddie Ledbetter   Composer
Mark Linett   Remixing,Audio Production
Tony Moran   Producer
Mike Stoller   Composer
Gary Usher   Composer
Nick Venet   Producer
Dennis Wilson   Composer
Tandyn Almer   Composer
Bob Berryhill   Composer
Pat Connolly   Composer
Anthony DeCurtis   Liner Notes
Michelle Gilliam   Composer
Ersel Hickey   Composer
Damon Wimbley   Producer
Fred Fassert   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Gregg Jakobson   Composer
Jack Rieley   Composer
Reggie Dunbar   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Platinum Collection: Sounds of Summer Edition 2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago