Playin' to Win

Playin' to Win

by The OutlawsThe Outlaws

CD(Remastered / Special Edition)

$17.77 $17.99 Save 1% Current price is $17.77, Original price is $17.99. You Save 1%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The Outlaws' 1978 album Playin' to Win marked a significant change in musical direction almost certainly due, in large part, to up-and-coming producer Robert John "Mutt" Lange. The Florida-based Southern rockers had just come off the live album Bring It Back Alive early that year, and concert albums quite often preface a change in a band's style. Lange made Playin' to Win a much slicker sounding record than the Outlaws' first three studio albums. This was also the first studio album without vocalist/guitarist Henry Paul, who was directly responsible for the traditional country elements in the Outlaws' original sound. He'd been replaced by Freddie Salem on Bring It Back Alive. The majority of the songs were still largely contributed by vocalists/guitarists Hughie Thomasson and Billy Jones, and the guitar and vocal harmonies are still intact, but Lange's production smoothes some of the edges too much, robbing the Outlaws of a bit of their rough-hewn charm. "Take It Anyway You Want It" immediately announces the Outlaws' new, lightly polished sound. "Cry Some More" verges on bouncy pop at times, but the guitar work provides some bite. The anthem "You Are the Show" is bookended by moody guitar parts. Jones' "If Dreams Came True" is gentle and lush, and the soft percussion work is fascinating. "A Real Good Feelin'" is easygoing country/pop, and Thomasson adds pedal steel fills. Salem's dramatic ballad "Falling Rain" proves he's a fully integrated into the band. Playin' to Win ends with an excellent cover of the Sutherland Brothers and Quiver's "Dirty City." It starts off slyly funky and turns into a guitar workout jam.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/24/2017
Label: Rock Candy
UPC: 5055300390264
catalogNumber: 5080257
Rank: 45876

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Outlaws   Primary Artist
Freddie Salem   Guitar,Vocals,Slide Guitar,Group Member
Harvey Dalton Arnold   Bass Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
David Dix   Percussion,Conga,Group Member
Mike Duke   Keyboards
Hughie Thomasson   Acoustic Guitar,Pedal Steel Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Monte Yoho   Percussion,Drums,Group Member
Billy Jones   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Group Member

Technical Credits

Outlaws   Arranger
Freddie Salem   Composer
Harvey Dalton Arnold   Composer
Robert John "Mutt" Lange   Arranger,Producer
Rodney Mills   Engineer
Hughie Thomasson   Composer
John Barrett   Cover Photo
Ron Kellum   Art Direction
Tim Oliver   Sleeve Photo,Back Cover Photo
Malcolm Dome   Liner Notes
Billy Jones   Composer
Iain Sutherland   Composer

Customer Reviews