Pub. Date:
University of Minnesota Press
Playwrights for Tomorrow: A Collection of Plays, Volume 9

Playwrights for Tomorrow: A Collection of Plays, Volume 9

by Arthur H. BalletArthur H. Ballet


Current price is , Original price is $50.0. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.


Playwrights for Tomorrow was first published in 1972. Minnesota Archive Editions uses digital technology to make long-unavailable books once again accessible, and are published unaltered from the original University of Minnesota Press editions.

This is the ninth volume in the continuing series Playwrights for Tomorrow,which makes available collections of plays by dramatists who have participated in the program of the Office for Advanced Drama Research at the University of Minnesota. Arthur H. Ballet, the series editor, is the director of the program.

Professor Ballet writes an introduction to the volume, sketching a history of the O.A.D.R. program, telling about some of its accomplishments and programs, and giving information about the playwrights and productions of the plays included here. He explains: "The O.A.D.R. was established in 1963 at the University of Minnesota, with financial aid from the Rockefeller Foundation, to provide an opportunity for playwrights seeking to try fresh paths, an opportunity to have their work performed without the pressures endemic to the commercial theatre."

The plays in this volume are Encore by David Korr, Madam Popov by Gladden Schrock, Children of the Kingdom by The Company Theatre Ensemble with script by Don Keith Opper, and Psalms of Two Davids by Joel Schwartz. Encore and Madam Popov were presented, in separate productions, at the Other Place Theatre of the Tyrone Guthrie Theater in Minneapolis. Children of the Kingdom was presented by The Company Theatre in Los Angeles. Psalms of Two Davids was produced at the College of Marin in California under the direction of James Dunn. Two of the plays—Children of the Kingdom and Psalms of Two Davids —are full-length and the other two are one-act plays.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780816606542
Publisher: University of Minnesota Press
Publication date: 12/15/1972
Series: Minnesota Archive Editions
Edition description: Minnesota Archive Editions
Pages: 216
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.70(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

Arthur H. Ballet is a retired Professor of Theater Arts and Dance at the University of Minnesota.

Customer Reviews