Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Since the founding of the modern Turkish republic in 1923, Turkey's political leaders have been decisive in shaping the development of their country's democratic patterns and processes. Beginning with Mustafa Kemal Ataturk, Political Leaders and Democracy in Turkey analyzes the origins, political careers, beliefs, and policies of eleven of modern-day Turkey's most influential leaders. The chapters offer a unique perspective into the complex and fascinating world of Turkish political leadership and the transition to, and consolidation of, democracy. This crucial addition to Turkish studies and comparative politics is the first book to undertake a systematic study of the role political leaders have played in shaping the successes, as well as the shortcomings, of Turkey's grand democratic experiment.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780739103524
Publisher: Lexington Books
Publication date: 05/28/2002
Pages: 270
Product dimensions: 6.33(w) x 9.44(h) x 0.96(d)

About the Author

Metin Heper is Professor of Political Science at Bilkent University, Turkey. Sabri Sayari is Visiting Professor at the School of Foreign Service and Executive Director of the Institute of Turkish Studies at Georgetown University.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1 Introduction Chapter 2 Atatürk: Founding Father, Realist, and Visionary Chapter 3 Ismet Inönü: Rationalist Democrat Chapter 4 Celal Bayar: Conspiratorial Democrat Chapter 5 Adnan Menderes: Between Democratic and Authoritarian Populism Chapter 6 Süleyman Demirel: National Will and Beyond Chapter 7 Bülent Ecevit: From Idealist to Pragmatist Chapter 8 Necmettin Erbakan: Islamist, Demagogue, and Martyr Chapter 9 Alparslan Türkes: From Ultra-Nationalist to Democrat Chapter 10 Turgut Özal: Pious Agent of Liberal Transformation Chapter 11 Mesut Yilmaz: From Özal's Shadow to Mediator Chapter 12 Tansu Ciller: Lusting for Power and Undermining Democracy Chapter 13 Conclusion

Customer Reviews