Port of Miami

Port of Miami

by Rick RossRick Ross


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Nicknamed after a notorious drug dealer, William "Rick Ross" Roberts claims to have dealt drugs himself, prior to becoming an MC and gaining the interest of Def Jam president Jay-Z. Rather than merely lure Ross away from his initial label (Slip-N-Slide) with a lucrative contract, Jay-Z linked up with the entire label and netted a distribution deal. "Hustlin'," a leviathan, trunk-rattling single released a few before Port of Miami -- Rick Ross' official debut album, following a series of mixtapes -- informed everyone within earshot about Ross' modus operandi. He's Miami's answer to Atlanta's Young Jeezy, Def Jam's breakout artist of 2005. He has a slow, husky drawl, almost always sounding like he should either clear his throat or drink some water, and raps almost exclusively about peddling coke and the lifestyle that comes with the trade. He's relatively less agile than Jeezy and doesn't sound nearly as experienced as a rhymer, but his imposing presence and uniquely enunciated pronouncements are alluring, even when his lyrics are random and amount to little more than space-filling, lumpishly projected nonsense -- like, say, "Ever seen a fat boy in a big body?/Know you wanna sit bah me, all you do is think bot it/Lease apartments to get kicked ot it/Next day buy a condo to get a kick ot it." On occasion, he shows promise as a lyricist with flashes of Jeezy or even T.I. when it comes to relating the ups and downs of the life. His pen redeems "Cross That Line," which features another autopiloted Akon appearance, just like Young Jeezy's similarly anthemic "Soul Survivor": "Lil' brother knowing life illegal/No toys, just playin' with pipes and needles." Jay-Z enlists a handful of A-list producers, including Jazze Pha, DJ Toomp, and Cool & Dre, as well as the Runners, who handle nearly a third of the tracks, "Hustlin'" included.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/08/2006
Label: Def Jam
UPC: 0602498562475
catalogNumber: 000698402
Rank: 13730

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Rick Ross   Primary Artist,Rap
Mario Winans   Vocals
Jay-Z   Rap
Kim Fox   Vocals
Lil Wayne   Rap
Akon   Vocals
Young Jeezy   Rap
Lloyd   Rap
Fernando Watson   Vocals

Technical Credits

Bernard Edwards   Composer
Phalon Alexander   Producer
Mario Winans   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Kenny Luck   Producer
Dré   Producer
Jazze Pha   Audio Production
Alli Truch   Art Direction
Shannon "Slam" Lawrence   Vocal Producer
J. Smith   Audio Production
W.D. Roberts   Composer
Tatsuya Sato   Engineer
Cool   Producer
Dawud West   Art Direction,Logo
Akon   Audio Production
Cool & Dre   Audio Production
J.R. Rotem   Producer
Class   Executive Producer
Tai Linzie   Photo Coordination
Rick Ross   Executive Producer
Ben Diehl   Engineer
Verky Arcos   Photo Coordination
Jean "J Rock" Borges   Producer
Ted "Touché" Luca   Executive Producer
Elvin "Big Chuck" Prince   Engineer
Derrick Selby   Engineer
Nicholas Solis   Engineer
Dantly "Prowla" Wyatt   Engineer

Customer Reviews