Post-Cold War (Daily Life Through History Series)

Post-Cold War (Daily Life Through History Series)

by Stephen A. Bourque


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 21


From the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989 through the years immediately after the collapse of the World Trade Center and Pentagon in 2001, and within the administrations of George H. W. Bush, William J. Clinton, and George W. Bush, soldiers' lives underwent enormous changes. Without the benefit of national conscription, these professionals, nurtured on stories of World War II, Korea, and Vietnam, experienced repetitive tours of duty in one combat zone after another to an extent the warriors of earlier eras could never have imagined. They fought every kind of war during this period; high-intensity mechanized war, air and heliborne raids, peace-keeping activities, urban combat, counter-insurgency operations, refugee support, and counter-narcotics operations.

What makes the story of this era's soldiers all the more compelling is that these activities took place as the American military actually decreased its military strength during the period, leading to more and longer tours of duty. The book also includes a timeline to put dates and events in better perspective, a comprehensive, topically arranged bibliography, and a thorough index.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780313332906
Publisher: ABC-CLIO, Incorporated
Publication date: 03/30/2008
Series: Greenwood Press Daily Life Through History Series: American Soldiers' Lives Series
Pages: 216
Product dimensions: 7.00(w) x 10.10(h) x 0.80(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

STEPHEN A. BOURQUE is Associate Professor and Curriculum Developer in the Department of Military History at the U.S. Army Command and General Staff College, Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. He is the author of several books, including The Road to Safwan: A Cavalry Squadron in the Persian Gulf War and articles in the Quarterly Journal of Military History and the Middle East Journal.

Table of Contents



Chapter 1. The Cold War Army: An Overview

Chapter 2. 1989-1991: Operations Just Cause, Desert Shield, and Desert Storm

Chapter 3. 1992-2006: Interventions and Insurgencies

Chapter 4. Organization

Chapter 5. Recruiting

Chapter 6. Training

Chapter 7. The Soldiers

Chapter 8. The Soldier at Home in the Military

Chapter 9 The Soldier and Technology

Chapter 10 Going to War Chapter

Chapter 11 The Post-Cold War Veteran



Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews