by Pieta BrownPieta Brown


$14.23 $15.99 Save 11% Current price is $14.23, Original price is $15.99. You Save 11%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Over the years, Iowa City native Pieta Brown has shown an enthusiasm for collaboration, frequently inviting others to help paint the canvas around her gossamer-toned folk songs. Aside from the constant presence of co-producer and husband Bo Ramsey, her six albums present an ever-shifting framework that seems to offer a fresh perspective each time around. For her seventh album, 2017's Postcards, she takes this a step farther, recording a set of ten sparsely appointed acoustic songs that were then sent to ten different collaborators to arrange and finish recording. Uniquely, and perhaps out of deference to the gentle nature of the material, Brown's chosen partners end up making Postcards into one of the more understated offerings in her catalog. What could have easily become a motley collection of showboating duets is in fact a remarkably cohesive record featuring a number of fine instrumental augmentations to Brown's thoughtful songs. Spacious, wide-vista opener "In the Light" gets the open-road treatment from Calexico, while the ethereal "Rosine" is lent a dreamlike timbre thanks to Minneapolis saxophonist Mike Lewis. The sweet-toned "Street Tracker" features guitar giant Mark Knopfler coloring in between the lines, while indie folk trio the Pines imbue album closer "All the Roads" with a gorgeous amber glow. Other partners adding their subtle grace to Postcards include Mason Jennings, David Lindley, Chad Cromwell, and Carrie Rodriguez.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/10/2017
Label: Lustre Records
UPC: 0634457749627
catalogNumber: 1
Rank: 100434

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Pieta Brown   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Vocals,Slide Guitar
David Lindley   Hawaiian Guitar
Joey Burns   Accordion,Background Vocals,Vibes
Chad Cromwell   Drums
Mark Knopfler   Electric Guitar
David Mansfield   Mandolin,Weissenborn
Bo Ramsey   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Guitar (Resonator),Guitar (12 String Acoustic)
John Convertino   Drums
Eric Heywood   Acoustic Guitar,Pedal Steel Guitar,E-bow
Mason Jennings   Bass,Drums,Keyboards,Vocal Harmony
Carrie Rodriguez   Fiddle,Vocal Harmony
Caitlin Canty   Background Vocals
Benson Ramsey   Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Background Vocals
David Huckfelt   Guitar (Nylon String)
Ryan Alfred   Bass
Alex Ramsey   Piano,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Mike Lewis   Bass,Saxophone

Technical Credits

Jennifer Condos   Engineer
Guy Fletcher   Engineer
Joe McMahan   Engineer
Bo Ramsey   Producer
Pieta Brown   Composer,Producer
Luke Tweedy   Engineer
Mark Polack   Engineer
Justin Vernon   Engineer
Benson Ramsey   Engineer
Luke Jacobs   Engineer
Ryan Alfred   Engineer
Jordanna Rachinsky   Artwork
Adam Krinsky   Engineer
Mike Lewis   Engineer
Pearl Rachinsky   Artwork,Layout

Customer Reviews