Prime Tyme

Prime Tyme

by IIIrd Tyme Out


$13.95 $14.99 Save 7% Current price is $13.95, Original price is $14.99. You Save 7%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, December 17


Prime Tyme marks the 20th anniversary of Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out, one of the top bluegrass bands in America. There have been a few personnel shifts over the years, but the core of the band -- Moore on rhythm guitar and lead vocals, Steve Dilling on banjo and harmony vocals, and mandolin player Wayne Benson -- has been in place, more or less, for 15 years. (Benson took three years off to play with John Cowan from 2004-2007.) Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out have been at the top of their game since their debut, and this album continues their tradition of solid efforts marked by their breathtaking harmonies and sterling musicianship. The band implicitly deals with the country's economic woes on "Old Kentucky Farmers," a tribute to the hard work and honest labor that built this country, and the subtle gospel-flavored ballad "What's the World Coming To." Honing in on the story of one unemployed worker brings a human element to the song that makes it even more universal. Moore's heart-rending vocal and Justin Haynes' emotive fiddling convey the feeling of frustration and anxiety so many are feeling this year. The band's usual upbeat nature is evident on "Pretty Little Girl from Galax," dominated by Dilling's banjo and Haynes' fiddle; "Sugarfoot Rag," a dance tune that celebrates a big win at the race track; and a lively cover of the Delmore Brothers' "Gonna Lay Down My Old Guitar." The album's lone instrumental shows off the band's unique approach; it's a midtempo groove that allows each member to shine, and Moore, Dilling, Benson, and Haynes all turn in solos that are models of economic creativity.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/24/2011
Label: Rural Rhythm
UPC: 0732351108523
catalogNumber: 1085
Rank: 33505

Album Credits

Performance Credits

IIIrd Tyme Out   Primary Artist
Steve Dilling   Banjo,Rhythm Guitar,Vocal Harmony
Wayne Benson   Mandolin
Russell Moore   Guitar,Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Justen Haynes   Fiddle,Vocal Harmony
Edgar Loudermilk   Vocals,Upright Bass,Vocal Harmony

Technical Credits

Hank Garland   Composer
Willis Alan Ramsey   Composer
Billy Smith   Composer
Mark Abramson   Composer
Ronnie Bowman   Composer
Dave Carroll   Composer
Greg Luck   Engineer
Shannon Slaughter   Composer
Alton Delmore   Composer
Rabon Delmore   Composer
Bill Gordh   Composer
Bill Castle   Composer
George Vaughn   Composer
Russell Moore   Producer
Donnie Carver   Audio Technician
Adam Wright   Composer
Mark Brinkman   Composer
David Norris   Composer
Milan Miller   Composer
Michael Garris   Composer
Paul Austin Cunningham   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews