Prisoners & Other Stories

Prisoners & Other Stories

by Ed Gorman


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


"With the best of these stories, Ed Gorman not only transcends the genre of crime fiction, he takes it on an entirely new direction."


In a recent interview, Ed Gorman said that his work is essentially about "Outsiders trying to strike some sort of weary bargain with a hostile world."

The prize-winning stories collected here certainly reflect that theme.

From the young man visiting his father in prison-to the teenage girl trying to escape the grip of her mother's boyfriend-to the father searching for his daughter's murderer... these are people we see every day, yet did not know intimately until now.

As Reflections noted, "Ed Gorman is a serious writer with a voice and vision all his own . . ." And, in the words of The San Francisco Chronicle, "Ed Gorman has a wonderful style of writing that allows him to say things of substance in an entertaining way."

Prisoners offers the reader a variety of moods and styles-from the mournful beauty of "The Wind From Midnight" to the hard-boiled sorrow of "Failed Prayers" to the bitter power of the Shamus-winning "Turn Away."

Here you'll find crime, horror and mainstream stories by the writer whose first novel, Rough Cut, Library Journal called "An auspicious debut" and whose most recent novel, The Night Remembers, The San Diego Chronicle said made Gorman "One of today's best crime writers."

Prisoners also contains a warm and witty Afterword by best-selling author Dean R. Koontz.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781628157239
Publisher: Speaking Volumes, LLC
Publication date: 05/10/2017
Pages: 308
Sales rank: 852,898
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.69(d)

About the Author

Ed has worked in politics as both a speechwriter and a TV producer. He has won the Shamus, Anthony, Ellery Queen, Spur, and International Fiction Awards. He has been nominated twice for an Edgar and once for the Silver Dagger. His other work includes the Sam McCain series and the Jack Sawyer series. A feature film based on his novel The Poker Club is forthcoming.

Ed also writes under the pen name Daniel Ransom.

Customer Reviews