Puzzle People

Puzzle People

by The TemptationsThe Temptations


$12.88 $12.99 Save 1% Current price is $12.88, Original price is $12.99. You Save 1%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, February 24
3 New & Used Starting at $11.95


Both The Temptations and producer Norman Whitfield were at the top of their form with 1969's Puzzle People, which captures the group in the midst of their rock-influenced "socially conscious" period. While the lead-off cut, "I Can't Get Next To You," was a potent R&B dance-floor filler, elsewhere the album was dotted with "relevant" tunes such as "Message From A Black Man" (not nearly as militant as it sounds), "Don't Let The Joneses Get You Down," and the "life-in-prison" epic "Slave," complete with plenty of fuzztone and wah-wah and enough panning to make George Clinton dizzy. But while the material and the production is a bit dated, Whitfield and his crew certainly caught The Funk Brothers on a great run when they cut these sessions, with the musicians blending the swagger and confidence of rock with a soundly funky undertow and chops to spare. And as for the Temptations themselves, if new lead vocalist Dennis Edwards lacked the elan of David Ruffin, he had power to spare, and the group's harmonies and shared vocals found room for both smooth precision and streetwise grit. While short on hits past the opening track (and padded with well-executed but hardly essential covers of "Hey Jude" and "Little Green Apples," Puzzle People is still the work of a great vocal group firing on all cylinders and getting inspired support in the studio, and it's one of the group's strongest late-60's efforts.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/01/2018
Label: Elemental Music
UPC: 8435395501689
catalogNumber: 88525
Rank: 9533

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Temptations   Primary Artist
Dennis Edwards   Vocals,Tenor (Vocal),Group Member
Jack Brokensha   Vibes
Dennis Coffey   Guitar
Johnny Griffith   Keyboards
Otis Williams   Vocals,Baritone (Vocal),Tenor (Vocal),Group Member
Jack Ashford   Percussion
Bob Babbitt   Bass
Eddie "Bongo" Brown   Bongos
Melvin Franklin   Bass (Vocal),Vocals,Group Member
James Jamerson   Bass
Uriel Jones   Drums
Eddie Kendricks   Vocals,Tenor (Vocal),Falsetto,Group Member
Joe Messina   Guitar
Earl Van Dyke   Keyboards
Wah Wah Watson   Guitar
Eddie Willis   Guitar
Paul Williams   Vocals,Baritone (Vocal),Tenor (Vocal),Group Member
Andrew Smith   Drums
Spider Webb   Drums

Technical Credits

John Lennon   Composer
Paul McCartney   Composer
Barrett Strong   Composer
Bobby Russell   Composer
Zev Feldman   Reissue Producer
O'Kelly Isley   Composer
Ronald Isley   Composer
Rudolph Isley   Composer
Jordi Soley   Reissue Producer
Norman Whitfield   Composer,Producer
Curtis McNair   Cover Design,Liner Design
Roger Penzabene   Composer
Mireia Serrano   Repackaging Design

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews