Quiet Nights

Quiet Nights

by Miles Davis

CD(Remastered / Bonus Tracks)

$6.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, November 21


Miles Davis' final official collaboration with arranger Gil Evans resulted in their weakest project. There were only 27 minutes of music on the original Quiet Nights LP, and six minutes were taken up by a quintet performance of "Summer Night." The six remaining tracks are enjoyable enough (highlighted by "Once Upon a Summertime" and "Corcovado"), but rather brief, making one wonder why Evans could not have been persuaded to write more material.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/01/2008
Label: Sbme Special Mkts.
UPC: 0886972497525
catalogNumber: 724975
Rank: 24249


  1. Song No. 2
  2. Once upon a Summertime
  3. Aos Pes da Cruz
  4. Song No. 1
  5. Wait Till You See Her
  6. Corcovado
  7. Summer Night
  8. The Time of the Barracudas

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Miles Davis   Primary Artist,Trumpet
Paul Horn   Flute,Alto Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Frank Butler   Drums
Ron Carter   Bass
George Coleman   Tenor Saxophone
Victor Feldman   Piano
Herbie Hancock   Piano
Elvin Jones   Percussion
Steve Lacy   Soprano Saxophone
Jerome Richardson   Flute,Reeds
Julius Watkins   French Horn
Tony Williams   Drums
Frank Rehak   Trombone
Ernie Royal   Trumpet
Jimmy Cobb   Drums
Ray Alonge   French Horn
Harold Baker   Trumpet
Billy Barber   Tuba
Raymond Beckenstein   Flute,Reeds
Willie Bobo   Bongos
Garvin Bushell   Bassoon,Contrabassoon
Paul Chambers   Bass
Gene Cipriano   Alto Flute,Oboe,Tenor Saxophone
Donald Corrado   Horn,French Horn
Fred Dutton   Bassoon
Gil Evans   Conductor
Bernie Glow   Trumpet
J.J. Johnson   Trombone
Louis Mucci   Trumpet
Richard Perissi   Horn,French Horn
Janet Putnam   Harp
Bob Tricarico   Bassoon
Unk   Reeds,Woodwind
Dick Leith   Bass,Trombone,Bass Trombone
Block   Flute,Flugelhorn
Art Maeba   French Horn
Marjorie Call   Harp
William Hinshaw   Horn,French Horn

Technical Credits

Bob Belden   Producer,Liner Notes,Reissue Producer
Steven Berkowitz   Director,Reissue Series
Gil Evans   Arranger
Kevin Gore   Director,Reissue Series
Teo Macero   Producer
Fred Plaut   Engineer
Irving Townsend   Producer
Mark Wilder   Remixing
Seth Rothstein   Director
Howard Fritzson   Art Direction
Randall Martin   Reissue Design
Nicholas Bennett   Packaging Manager
Marino Pinto   Composer
Pedro Gonçalves   Composer
Scott Hyde   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews